Faculty and Staff

The History department consists of 16 full-time faculty, a dozen part-time faculty members, and two administrative staff members. Some of the specialties our faculty focus include medieval Europe, Early Modern European(Renaissance and Reformation), Twentieth-Century American and World War II, Atlantic history. 

 

Faculty Member

Field of Interest

DenBeste

Michelle DenBeste

Dean of the College of Social Sciences

Modern Russia; Modern Europe; Women's History
Ethan

Ethan Kytle

Department Chair

ekytle@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

2:00 PM - 3:15 PM M

10:45 AM - 12:00 PM TTH

Nineteenth-Century America; Intellectual and Cultural History; Civil War and Reconstruction; Slavery and Abolition; U.S. South; Historical Memory
Jones

Brad Jones

Associate Professor &

Graduate Coordinator

brajones@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

1:00 PM - 4:00 PM M

Colonial and Revolutionary America; The Atlantic World; 18th-century British Empire; Popular Politics

 

  Faculty Member Field of Interest
 History

Mark Arvanigian

Professor

marvanig@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MW

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM T

Medieval Europe; Britain to 1600
 Cady

Daniel Cady

Associate Professor

dcady@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM W

3:15 PM - 4:15 PM TTH

Twentieth-Century U.S.; American Music; Oral History
 Clune

Lori Clune

Professor

lclune@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

10:00 AM - 12:00 PM W

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM TH

 

Cold War America; McCarthyism; Espionage; Propaganda; Psychological Warfare; U.S. Diplomatic History; Twentieth Century; U.S. History
 Farrell

John Farrell

Lecturer

jfarrell@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

11:00 AM - 11:45 PM MWF

Historical and Cultural Preservation; Memory Studies; 20th-Century Russia; Politics of Culture
 Fields Jill Fields

Professor

jfields@csufresno.edu

Office Hours: 

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM TTH

3:15 PM - 4:00 PM T

Modern U.S.; U.S. Women's History; U.S. Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Jewish Studies
 Guzman Romeo Guzman

Assistant Professor

romeog@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

3:30 PM - 5 PM W

Twentieth-Century Mexico, Mexican migration; Chicanx Studies; Public History and Digital Humanities; Oral History
 Jordine Melissa Jordine

Professor

mjordine@csufresno.edu

Office hours by appointment only

German Intervention in Northern Africa; World War II in Europe and North Africa; Modern Germany; the Holocaust
 Lopes

Maria-Aparecida Lopes

Professor

mlopes@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM MW

19th and 20th Century Latin America, Mexico, and Brazil
 Lopez

Maritere Lopez

Associate Professor

Director, Graduate Net Initiative

mariterel@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

4:30 PM - 5:30 PM T

Renaissance/Reformation; Early Modern Women/Gender; Friendship & Love in the Renaissance; Early Modern Manners and Conduct Manuals
 Reese

DeAnna Reese

Professor of History and Africana Studies

dreese@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

9:00 AM - 10:30 AM TH

Twentieth-Century U.S. African American Women; Social Urban History
 Roberts

Blain Roberts

Professor

broberts@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM TTH

Twentieth-Century U.S. Women's and Gender History; U.S. Cultural History; the American South; Memory; Historical Tourism
 Shatz

Julia Shatz

Assistant Professor

jshatz@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

1:30 PM - 3:00 PM TTH

The modern Middle East; British Empire/History of colonialism; Transnational History; History of Childhood/Child Welfare; Global Humanitarianism
 Skuban

William Skuban

Professor

weskuban@csufresno.edu

Office Hours: 

1:00 PM - 4:00 PM W

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM TH

Latin American History; U.S. Latin American Relations; Nationalism, National Identity, and Nation-State Formation; Church-State Relations in Latin America

 Part-Time Faculty

Prof. Rowena Bermio  

Office: SS106

Office Hours: MW 9:00-10:00 am

Email:  rbermio@csufresno.edu

Dr. Stephen Bohigian  

    Office: SS129

    Office Hours: TTH 9:15-10:15 am

Email: stephenbohigian@csufresno.edu

Dr. Allen Carden  

Office: SS129

Office Hours: by appointment only

Email:  acarden@csufresno.edu

Prof. Vernon Creviston  

Office: SS129

Office Hours: MWF 9:00-10:00 am

Email: vcreviston@csufresno.edu

Prof. Jose Garza  

Office: SS129

Email: josegarza@csufresno.edu

Prof. Denise Jessie  

Office: N/A

Email: mjessie@csufresno.edu

Dr. Lars Maischak  

   Office: N/A

   Email: lars_maischak@csufresno.edu

    Professor's Website 

Dr. Victoria Malko  

   Office: IT262

   Email: vmalko@csufresno.edu

    Professor's Website 

Prof. Savannah Nakamura  

   Office: SS129

   Office Hours: by appointment

  Email: savannahn@mail.fresnostate.edu 

Prof. Joseph Orbock  

Office: SS129

Office Hours: W 9:00-9:50 am

Email: jorbock@csufresno.edu

Prof. Anthony Petersen  

    Office: SS129

    Office Hours: Digitally

or by appointment

    Email: tapetersen@csufresno.edu 

Dr. Alicia Rivera  

Office: SS129

Office Hours: MWF 9:00-10:00 am

or by appointment

Email:  alrivera@csufresno.edu

Dr. Elivia Rodriguez  

Office: SS106

Office Hours: W 3:00-4:00 pm

or by appointment

Email: elviarodriguez@csufresno.edu

Dr. James Russell   

Office: SS123

Office Hours: by appointment

Email: cgeissert@csufresno.edu

Prof. Robin Sischo  

    Office: S162

    Office Hours: by appointment

    Email: rsischo@csufresno.edu

Prof. Sean Slusser  

    Office: SS129

    Office Hours: W 2:00-3:30 pm

                    TH 11:00-12:00 pm

    Email:  seslusser@csufresno.edu

Prof. Annamarie Vallis  

   Office: SS129

   Office Hours: M 2:00-4:00 pm

                    W 2:00-4:00 pm

   Email: avallis@csufresno.edu 

 

Faculty Emeritus 

Malik Simba

Malik Simba
University of Minnesota

Area of Expertise:

Constitutional History, African-American History, History in Film. Professor's Web Page