Faculty and Staff

The History Department consists of full-time faculty, part-time faculty, and an administrative staff. Our dynamic community of scholars engages in a wide range of research pursuits that currently stretches from the medieval period to the twenty-first century.  They utilize distinct thematic orientations and theoretical approaches to explore geographic regions that include Europe, the Middle East, Latin America, and the United States.

Faculty Member
 

Faculty Member

Field of Interest

 Skuban2020

William Skuban, PhD

Department Chair

weskuban@csufresno.edu

Office Hours: 

 

ZOOM

or by appointment

Latin American History; U.S. Latin American Relations; Nationalism, National Identity, and Nation-State Formation; Church-State Relations in Latin America
Jones

Brad Jones, PhD

Professor &

Graduate Coordinator

brajones@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

Colonial and Revolutionary America; The Atlantic World; 18th-century British Empire; Popular Politics

 

Faculty Member
  Faculty Member Field of Interest
 History

Mark Arvanigian, PhD

Professor

marvanig@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

Medieval Europe; Britain to 1600
 Rowena Bermio

Rowena Bermio

Lecturer

rbermio@csufresno.edu

Early Modern Europe; Cultural History; U.S. History; Religion; Medieval Art History
 Bohigian

Stephen Bohigian, PhD

Lecturer

stephenbohigian@csufresno.edu

Urban History; Race; Policing; Surveillance; Crime
 Cady

Daniel Cady, PhD

Associate Professor

dcady@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

ZOOM

or by appointment

Twentieth-Century U.S.; American Music; Oral History
 Carden

Allen Carden, PhD

Lecturer

acarden@csufresno.edu

Colonial America; Colonial Latin America; American Revolution; American Slavery; Licoln; American Civil War; American Presidency
 Clune

Lori Clune, PhD

Professor

lclune@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

ZOOM

or by appointment

 

Global Cold War; U.S. Diplomatic History; Propaganda; Espionage; Video Game History

 

Vernon Creviston

Lecturer

vcreviston@csufresno.edu

 
 Farrell

John Farrell, PhD

Lecturer

jfarrell@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

Modern Europe/Russia; Soical Memory; Historical Preservation; Racial/Social Equality; Human Rights
 Fields Jill Fields, PhD

Professor

jfields@csufresno.edu

Office Hours: 

ZOOM

or by appointment

Modern U.S.; U.S. Women's History; U.S. Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Jewish Studies
 

Jose Garza

Lecturer

josegarza@csufresno.edu

U.S. History Civil Rights History; African-American History; Social Revolutions and the History of Marginalized Communities
 

Mildred Denise Jessie

Lecturer

mjessie@csufresno.edu

 
Ethan

Ethan Kytle, PhD

Professor

ekytle@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

Nineteenth-Century America; Intellectual and Cultural History; Civil War and Reconstruction; Slavery and Abolition; U.S. South; Historical Memory
 Lopes

Maria-Aparecida Lopes, PhD

Professor

mlopes@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

 

Sabbatical 20-21 AY
19th and 20th Century Latin America, Mexico, and Brazil
 Lopez

Maritere Lopez, PhD

Professor

Director, Graduate Net Initiative

mariterel@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

Renaissance/Reformation; Early Modern Women/Gender; Friendship & Love in the Renaissance; Early Modern Manners and Conduct Manuals
 

Lars Maischak, PhD

Lecturer

lars_maischak@csufresno.edu

   Professor's Website 

 
 Malko

Victoria Malko, PhD

Lecturer

 

Office: PB409

vmalko@csufresno.edu

    Professor's Website 

 
 

Joseph Orbock

Lecturer

jorbock@csufresno.edu

 
 Reese

DeAnna Reese, PhD

Professor

dreese@csufresno.edu

Office Hours

Sabbatical 20-21 AY

Twentieth-Century U.S. African American Women; Social Urban History
 

Alicia Rivera, PhD

Lecturer

 

alrivera@csufresno.edu

 
 Roberts

Blain Roberts, PhD

Professor

broberts@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

Sabbatical Fall 2020

Twentieth-Century U.S. Women's and Gender History; U.S. Cultural History; the American South; Memory; Historical Tourism
 

Elvia Rodriguez, PhD

Lecturer

 

elviarodriguez@csufresno.edu

 
 Shatz

Julia Shatz, PhD

Assistant Professor

jshatz@csufresno.edu

Office Hours:

ZOOM

or by appointment

The modern Middle East; British Empire/History of colonialism; Transnational History; History of Childhood/Child Welfare; Global Humanitarianism
 

Robin Sischo

Lecturer

 

Office: S162

rsischo@csufresno.edu

 
  Sean Slusser

Lecturer

 

seslusser@csufresno.edu

 
 

Annamarie Vallis

Lecturer

 

 avallis@csufresno.edu 

 

 

Faculty Emeritus 

Malik Simba 2020
Malik Simba

Malik Simba, PhD
University of Minnesota

Area of Expertise:

Constitutional History, African-American History, History in Film. Professor's Web Page