Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Certificate in Geographic Information Systems

The Geography Department and City & Regional Planning offers a certificate of special student in Geography Information Systems.  This 12-unit program consists of four required courses.  The certificate is designed for students seeking employment opportunities, those considering post-baccalaureate studies, and professionals who wish to further their careers in GIS.

Required Upper-Division Courses  (9 units)

GEOG 141 (3 units)
GEOG 142 (3 units)
GEOG 143 (3 units)

Electives (3 units)

GEOG 152; FIN 123; IS 140: CE 261, 283; GME 174, 175; EES 185, 186

Total (12 units)

Advising Notes:

  1. Open to all students and professionals.
  2. A grade of C or better must be earned in each course to receive the certificate