MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FRESNO 5241 North Maple Avenue, M/S TA43 Fresno, California 93740-8027 Office of the Academic Senate Ext. 278-2743

FAX: 278-5745 (AS-11)

May 3, 2010

Members Absent: I. Basurto, J. Bradshaw (excused), S. Delcroix, D. Farris (excused), S. Figlioli, D. Frazier, T. Johnson, S. Lin, S. Liu, M. Lowe, D. Magoc, S. Miller, H. Miltiades, R. Rai, W. Rice, D. Smith, J. Sweeten (student), P. Trueblood, J. Wang, L. Weston, C. Won, M. Xiao, D. Zhang, M. Zoghi.

A meeting of the Academic Senate was called to order by Chair Caldwell at 4:03 p.m. in the University Center, Room 200.

- 1. Agenda. MSC to approve the Agenda as distributed.
- 2. Minutes. MSC to approve the Minutes of 4/26/10.
- 3. Communications and Announcements.
 - A. Christine Edmonson, Chair Student Affairs Committee, shared a memorandum of Commendations for Student Affairs Programs and Services. Chair Caldwell noted the academic Senate's appreciation for their work and dedication.
 - B. Jacinta Amaral (Statewide Senator) advised senators to visit <u>www.calstate.edu</u> to review information such as statewide Academic Senate minutes, communications and announcements.

Chair Caldwell led the Senate in thanking Professor Jacinta Amaral and Professor Otto Benavides for their service to the Statewide Academic Senate.

4. Installation of New Senators and Re-elected Senators..

Newly elected Department Senators and Re-elected Department Senators were installed and welcomed.

New Senators	Vincent Biondo (Philosophy), Alex Espinoza (English), Robert Fire (Nursing), Kaan Kurtural (Viticulture & Enology), Shu Lin (Accountancy), Lubo Liu (Civil & Geo Eng & Constr), Brian Lyons (Management), David Magoc (Aerospace Studies), Melanie Ram (Political Science), Devendra Sharma (Communication). Neal Spiro (Animal Science & Ag Ed), Klaus Tenbergen (Food Science & Nutrition), Manoochehr Zoghi (Construction Management).
Re-elected Senators	Alex Alexandrou (Plant Science), Jacinta Amaral (Modern & Classical Lang & Lit), Gena Gechter (Health & Psychological Services, Michael Mahoney (Recreation Admin & Leisure Studies), H. Otto Schweizer (Criminology), Janet Slagter (Women's Studies).

University-Wide Senator Thomas Holyoke (Social Sciences).

DEPARTMENT VACANCIES Finance & Business Law.

Outgoing Senators were congratulated and applauded for their service.

Chair Caldwell expressed his appreciation to outgoing Chair Michael Botwin for six years of service as Chair of the Academic Senate.

- 5. New Business There was no new business.
- 6. Consent Calendar.
 - A. Special Option Accelerated Bachelors in Business Administration - Academic Policy & Planning Committee (AP&P).

Since no objection was voiced, the item was approved by consent.

B. Nomination/Reappointment to the Committee for Faculty Equity and Diversity (CFED) – Executive Committee.

Since no objection was voiced, the item was approved by consent.

C. Nomination/Reappointment to the Student Affairs Committee.

Since no objection was voiced, the item was approved by consent.

- 7. Parking Policy Facilities & Campus Environmental Liaison Committee (FACEL).
 - MSC to accept the Recommendation for Improvement of Visitor Parking as an Interim Policy recommendation that will expire May 4, 2011, and forward to the President for approval.
- 8. Policy On Assessment of Teaching Effectiveness (APM 322) Personnel Committee – Second Reading.

Friendly Amendment to return to the original language of APM 322, II.B. with the addition of a sentence at its end was offered, but found objectionable by Senator J. Slagter. No further discussion or action was taken due to a lack of a quorum .

MSC to adjourn at 5:33 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting of the Academic Senate will be announced. An Agenda will be distributed prior to the meeting.

Submitted by:

Michael Caldwell Vice Chair Academic Senate Approved by:

Michael Botwin Chair Academic Senate