MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FRESNO 5240 North Jackson Avenue, M/S UC43 Fresno, California 93740-8023 Office of the Academic Senate Ext. 278-2743

April 20, 2009

Members Absent: A. Alexandrou (excused), D. Austin (excused), I. Basurto, M. Busteed, G. Decatrel, B. DerMugrdechian, W. Dodd (excused), D. Frazier, G. Gechter (excused), B. Hays, D. Herring, L. Johnson (student), K. Magdaleno, S. Miller (excused), S. Omolayo, E. Person, J. Peterson (excused), P. Popma (excused), F. Ringwald, D. Smith, K.C. Tseng, J. Wang, L. Weston, T. Winant, C. Won, M. Xiao.

FAX: 278-5745

(AS-7)

A meeting of the Academic Senate was called to order by Chair Botwin at 4:09 p.m. in the Music Building, Room #160.

- 1. Minutes. MSC to approve the Minutes of 4/13/09.
- 2. Agenda. MSC to approve the Agenda.
- 3. Communications and Announcements.
 - A. Chair Botwin communicated that the Executive Committee commenced discussions today regarding Student Evaluations of Faculty Effectiveness. He also discussed the importance of this policy to the academic community and of broad consultation with the Academic Assembly on this issue.
 - B. Chair Botwin urged faculty to share information on senate proceedings, especially the passage of new or revised policies with their faculty constituencies.
 - C. On behalf of the President, Interim Provost Dennis Nef recommended faculty visit online resources regarding Propositions 1A through 1E. In addition, he provided a brief overview of the propositions.
- Installation of New Senators.

New Senators - Julia Bradshaw (Art & Design), Amanda Dinscore (Library), Derek Frazier (Athletics), Melissa Golden (Chemistry),
Linda Hauser (Ed Research & Admin),
Andrew Jones (Sociology),
Shih-His Liu (Alex) Computer Science,
Mitzi Lowe (Social Work Ed),
Kelley McCoy (Communication &
Journalism),
Rahul Rai (Mechanical Engineering),
Susan Schlievert (Curriculum &
Instruction),
Peggy Trueblood (Physical Therapy),
Charles Won (Electrical & Computer Eng),
Daqing Zhang (Physics).

Re-elected Senators -

Don Austin (Industrial Technology),
Michael Botwin (Psychology),
Barlow Der Mugrdechian (Armenian
Studies Program),
Walter Dodd (Anthropology),
Rebecca Raya-Fernandez (Student
Services Prof-AR),
James Henson (Info Sys & Decision Sci),
Helen Miltiades (Pubic Health),
Sam Omolayo (Geography),
Janice Peterson (Economics),
John Wakabayashi (Earth &
Environimental Sciences),
Linn Williams (Ag Sciences & Technology).

The Academic Senate enthusiastically recognized new and reelected Senators.

- 5. Election Nominations Nominating/Elections Committee.
 - A. Chair and Vice Chair Academic Senate: The results were as follows by acclamation:

Chair, Academic Senate: Michael Botwin (Psychology).

Vice Chair, Academic Senate: Michael Caldwell (Music).

B. Executive Committee Member-At-Large (Nominations from the floor). The following individual was nominated and elected.

H.O. Schweizer (Social Sciences), a three-year term through 2012.

H. O. Schweizer was re-elected by acclamation.

6. New Business.

There was no new business.

7. Policy on Conflict of Interest in Grants and Contracts for Principal Investigators (APM 505) – Research Subcommittee.

Jeff Cummins, Chair, Research Subcommittee and Thomas McClanahan, Associate Vice President, Research & Sponsored Programs presented information about the policy and answered questions regarding specific examples of conflict of interest.

MSC to approve the Policy on Conflict of Interest in Grants and Contracts for Principal Investigators (APM 505) and forward to the President for approval.

8. Service Learning Subcommittee Charge - Second Reading.

Jan Slagter suggested two friendly amendments on Pg. 3, Section B (replace "the" in the first sentence with "community service") and Section C (under (1) replace the word "agency" with "setting").

MSC to approve the Service Learning Subcommittee Charge and forward to the President for approval.

MSC to adjourn at 4:42 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting of the Academic Senate will be announced. An Agenda will be distributed prior to the meeting.

Submitted by: Approved by:

Michael Caldwell
Vice Chair
Academic Senate

Michael Botwin
Chair
Academic Senate