## April 28, 2010

#### **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Members of the Academic Senate

**FROM:** Dawn Lewis, Vice Chair

Academic Senate

RE: Academic Senate Agenda - May 3, 2010

There is a meeting of the Academic Senate scheduled for Monday, May 3, 2010 at 4:00 p.m., in the University Center, Room #200.

~(APM) Attachments are on the Academic Senate Website~ http://www.csufresno.edu/senate/committees/index.shtml

#### **AGENDA**

- 1. Approval of the Agenda.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of 4/26/10.
- 3. Communications and Announcements.
- 4. Installation of New & Re-elected Senators (Attach #1)
- 5. New Business.
- 6. Consent Calendar.
  - A. Special Option Accelerated Bachelors in Business Administration Academic Policy & Planning Committee (AP&P). (Attach #2)
  - B. <u>Nomination/Reappointment to the Committee for</u> Faculty Equity and Diversity (CFED) (Attach #3)
  - C. <u>Nomination/Reappointment to the Student Affairs</u> Committee. (Attach #4)
- 7. Parking Policy Facilities & Campus Environmental Liaison Committee (FACEL) Second Reading.
- 8. Policy On Assessment of Teaching Effectiveness (APM 322) Personnel Committee Second Reading Continued.

SENATORS WHO WISH TO MAKE AMENDMENTS, ADDITIONS, OR DELETIONS TO DOCUMENTS BEING DISCUSSED ON THE ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA SHOULD PLEASE MAKE CHANGES IN WRITING.

Academic Senate Agenda May 3, 2010 (Attach 1)

# 4. Installation of New & Re-elected Senators.

The next page contains the list of newly elected Department Senators, Re-elected Department Senators, and Department Vacancies.

THE INSTALLATION OF SENATORS IS THE OFFICIAL BEGINNING OF THEIR TERMS IN OFFICE. UPON INSTALLATION OF NEW SENATORS, OUTGOING SENATORS WILL NO LONGER BE ABLE TO VOTE.

## **NEW SENATORS**

Vincent Biondo David Magoc

Philosophy Aerospace Studies

Alex Espinoza Melanie Ram English Political Science

Robert Fire Devendra Sharma Nursing Communication

Kaan Kurtural Neal Spiro

Viticulture & Enology Animal Science & Ag. Ed.

Shu Lin Lori T. Tang

Accountancy Finance & Business Law

Lubo Liu Klaus Tenbergen

Civil & Geo Eng & Constr Food Science & Nutrition

Brian Lyons Manoochehr Zoghi

Management Construction Management

## **RE-ELECTED SENATORS**

Alex Alexandrou Michael Mahoney

Plant Science Recreation Admin. & Leisure

**Studies** 

Jacinta Amaral H. Otto Schweizer

Modern & Classical Lang & Lit Criminology

Gena Gechter Janet Slagter Health & Physically Services Women's Studies

**DEPARTMENT VACANCIES**- Every Department is represented.

Academic Senate Agenda May 3, 2010 (Attach 2)

## **Consent Calendar**

**6.A.** Special Option Accelerated Bachelors in Business
Administration - Academic Policy & Planning Committee (AP&P).

MSC to forward the Special Option Accelerated Bachelor in Business Administration document to the Academic Senate and be placed on the Consent Calendar.

Academic Senate Agenda May 3, 2010 (Attach 3)

#### Consent Calendar

6.B. Nomination/Reappointment to the Committee for Faculty

Equity and Diversity (CFED) - Nominating/Elections Committee.

## **COMMITTEE FOR FACULTY EQUITY AND DIVERSITY (CFED)**

The Committee for Faculty Equity and Diversity shall be composed of thirteen members, ten of whom shall be faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate. There shall be one faculty member from each school or service area. The Committee shall include representation form protected groups. Members shall serve three year staggered terms. A representative of the Administration shall be the eleventh member. There shall be tow student members appointed by the Associated Students.

## **Continuing Members**

Carlos Perez (SS), Alfredo Cuellar (E&HD), Julie Moore (L), Joy Goto (S&M), Suzanne Kotkin-Jaszi (H&HS), Seth Balaji (AS&T), Clement Ogaja (E).

# Nomination for Reappointment/Replacement

Alfred Cuellar (Education & Human Development) to be reappointed for a three-year term.

Julie Moore (Library) to be reappointed for a three-year term. Shane Moreman (Arts & Humanities) to be appointed for a three-year term.

Academic Senate Agenda May 3, 2010 (Attach 4)

#### **Consent Calendar**

## 6.C. Nomination/Reappointment to the Student Affairs Committee

- Nominating/Elections Committee.

## **STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE**

The Student Affairs Committee shall be composed of eleven members, seven of who shall be faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate. No more than one faculty member shall be from any one school or service area. Members shall serve three year staggered terms. A representative of the administration shall be the eighth member. Three student appointed by the associated students shall complete the committee membership.

### **Continuing Members**

Christine Edmondson(S&M), Kenneth Fugelsang (AS&T),

Prank Padilla E&HD), Andrew Fiala (A&H).

## Nomination for Reappointment/Replacement

Andrew Fiala (Arts& Humanities) to be reappointed for a three-year term.

Kenneth Fugelsang (Agricultural Sciences & Technology) to be reappointed for a three-year term.

Leslie Weiser (Student Services Professional-Academically Related) to be appointed for a three-year term.