## May 3, 2012

### **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Members of the Academic Senate

**FROM:** Kevin Ayotte, Vice Chair

Academic Senate

RE: Academic Senate Agenda – May 7, 2012

There is a meeting of the Academic Senate scheduled for Monday, May 7, 2012 at 4:00 p.m., in the **Library Auditorium, Room #2206.** 

~(APM) Attachments are on the Academic Senate Website~ http://www.csufresno.edu/senate/senate\_documents/index.shtml

### **AGENDA**

- 1. Approval of the Agenda.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of 4/23/12.
- 3. Communications and Announcements.
- 4. Installation of New Senators.
- 5. Consent Calendar.
  - A. Nomination/Reappointment to the Committee for Faculty Equity and Diversity (CFED).
  - B. Nomination/Reappointment to the Student Affairs Committee.
- 6. New Business.
- 7. Resolution on Branding of California State University, Fresno–Jacinta Amaral.
- 8. APM 327 Policy on Promotion–Personnel Committee.
- 9. APM 206 Policy on Technology–Mediated Courses and Programs–Academic Policy & Planning Committee.
- 10. APM 243 Policies and Procedures for Student Academic Petitions Committee–Academic Policy and Planning Committee.
- 11. Proposal for Online Masters of Business Administration Program–Graduate Committee.
- 12. Certificate of Advanced Study in Homeland Security Programs–Graduate Committee.
- 13. Posthumous Degree Policy-Student Affairs Committee.
- 14. APM 361 Policy on Faculty Leaves of Absence-Allocation of Sabbatical Leaves-Personnel Committee.

# Academic Senate Agenda May 7, 2012

- 15. CGE Senator Appointments-Scott Moore, Professor & Senior Director, Division of Continuing and Global Education.
- 16. APM 306 (Policy on Full-time Temporary Faculty), APM 302 (Policy and Procedures for Full-time Temporary Faculty Including Emergency Appointments), and APM 307 (Policy on Part-time Temporary Faculty)—Personnel Committee.
- 17. APM 332 Policy on Range Elevation for Temporary Faculty–Personnel Committee.
- 18. APM 399 Policy on Emerita and Emeritus Status-Personnel Committee.
- 19. Computer Policy-Student Affairs Committee.

SENATORS WHO WISH TO MAKE AMENDMENTS, ADDITIONS, OR DELETIONS TO DOCUMENTS BEING DISCUSSED ON THE ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA SHOULD PLEASE MAKE CHANGES IN WRITING.

vb

### 4. Installation of New & Re-elected Senators.

This next page contains the list of newly elected Department Senators, Re-elected Department Senators, and Department Vacancies.

THE INSTALLATION OF SENATORS IS THE OFFICIAL BEGINNING OF THEIR TERMS IN OFFICE. UPON INSTALLATION OF NEW SENATORS, OUTGOING SENATORS WILL NO LONGER BE ABLE TO VOTE.

### **NEW SENATORS**

Nancy Akhavan Educational Research & Administration (ERA)

Candace Egan Mass Communications & Journalism

Dr. Jaymin Kwon Public Health

**<u>DEPARTMENT VACANCIES</u>**- Aerospace Studies, Military Science, Social Work Education, English (2<sup>nd</sup> representative), Music, Communication, Agricultural Business.

#### **Consent Calendar**

**5.A.** Nomination/Reappointment to the Committee for Faculty Equity and Diversity (CFED) - Nominating/Elections Committee.

## COMMITTEE FOR FACULTY EQUITY AND DIVERSITY (CFED)

The Committee for Faculty Equity and Diversity shall be composed of thirteen members, ten of whom shall be faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate. There shall be one faculty member from each school or service area. The Committee shall include representation form protected groups. Members shall serve three year staggered terms. A representative of the Administration shall be the eleventh member. There shall be two student members appointed by the AsOsociated Students.

## **Continuing Members**

Suzanne Kotkin-Jaszi (H&HS) Julie Moore (L) Kathryn Biacindo (E&HD) VaNee Van Vleck (SS) Jan Parten (Ex-Officio)

## **Nomination for Appointment**

Stefaan Delcroix, (S&M) appointed for a three-year term. Laurie Taylor, (CSB) appointed for a three-year term. Gloria Medina-Sancho, (A&H) appointed for a three-year term.

#### Consent Calendar

# 5.B. Nomination/Reappointment to the Student Affairs Committee

- Nominating/Elections Committee.

#### STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The Student Affairs Committee shall be composed of eleven members, seven of who shall be faculty members appointed by the Academic Senate. No more than one faculty member shall be from any one school or service area. Members shall serve three year staggered terms. A representative of the administration shall be the eighth member. Three student appointed by the associated students shall complete the committee membership.

### **Continuing Members**

Andrew Fiala (A&H) Leslie Weiser (SSP-AR) Diane Oliver (EH&D) Marianne Jackson (S&M) Carolyn Coon (Ex-Officio)

# Nomination for Appointment/Reappointment

Nancy Nisbett (H&HS) reappointed for a three-year term. Mohan B. Dangi (SS) appointed for a three-year term.