Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Brian Agbayani, ProfessorBrian bagbayan@csufresno.edu

Department Chair

  • Syntactic theory
  • Comparative syntax
  • Syntax-phonology interface
PB 416  M-Th 10 a.m.-noon
Denise Bissett, Department Administrative Assistant denise_bissett@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant PB 383  

Niken Adisasmito-Smith, Lecturer

Niken

nadisasmito@csufresno.edu    PB 422 M 10 a.m. - noon, T 1-2 p.m.
Barbara Birch, Professor bbirch@csufresno.edu
  • English as a second language reading 
  • English grammar
  • Language attitude
  • Peace education
PB 420 Contact via email to set up a Skype appointment
John Boyle, Associate ProfessorBoyle jboyle@csufresno.edu
  • Syntactic Theory
  • Morphology
  • Typology
  • Morpho-syntax interface
  • Language documentation and revitalization
  • Language pedagogy
PB 417 MW by appointment, TTH 9:45-10:45 a.m. and 12:30-1:45 p.m.
Laura Burke, Lecturer laurab@csufresno.edu   PB 422  T 2-3:30 p.m., W 10-11:30 a.m.
Pei Chang, Teaching Assistant peichen@mail.fresnostate.edu   PB 418 Th 10:50am-12:50am

Jidong Chen, Professor 

Jidong

jchen@csufresno.edu 

Graduate Coordinator

  • First and second language acquisition
  • Event construal and event representation
  • Cognitive linguistics
  • Language and cognition
  • Chinese linguistics               
PB 421 

TTH 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Zoom: W 10:00-11:00 a.m. (please email to receive the Zoom meeting link)

Jaydene Elvin, Assistant ProfessorJaydene  jaydene@mail.fresnostate.edu 

TESL Coordinator

  • TESL
  • L2 speech acquisition
PB 414 M-Th 1:45-2:45 p.m.

Sean Fulop, Professor

Sean

sfulop@csufresno.edu 

Cognitive Science Coordinator

  • Acoustic phonetics
  • Speech processing theory and methods
  • Computational linguistics theory
  • Mathematics of language
  • Mathematics and computation of learning
  • Web manager         
PB 423  MW 3:30-5:30pm

Chris Golston, Professor

Chris

chris_golston@csufresno.edu 
  • Phonetics/phonology
  • Poetic meter
  • Morphology/syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Evolution of language
PB 424  MW 2-3:15pm
Katie Gorman kgorman@csufresno.edu   LS 130 TTh Noon-2 p.m. (by appointment only), F 8:30-11 a.m.
Tomoko Kozasa, Lecturer tkozasa@csufresno.edu

Japanese Program Coordinator

 
PB 415  M 1:15-2:45pm, TTh 4:30-6:15pm

Cho Ly, Lecturer 

cly@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTh 1:30-2:30 p.m.

John Lyon, Assistant Professor

Lyon

johnlyon@csufresno.edu
  • semantics
  • pragmatics
  • information structure
  • language documentation
  • language revitalization
PB 417 W 12-2 p.m. Virtual/Physical, Th 10am-12 p.m.

Victoria Malko, Lecturer

Victoria

vmalko@csufresno.edu   PB 422 W 10 - 11 a.m.
Li Mann, Lecturer  lmann@cufresno.edu    PB 418  Th 9 - 11am.
Vong Mouanoutoua vomouanoutoua@csufresno.edu   PB 412 TTh 4:45-5:45 p.m.

Nasir Rashid, Lecturer

Nasir

nrashid@csufresno.edu    PB 422  M-Th 8:30 - 9 a.m.
James Russell russell@mail.fresnostate.edu   PB 415 F 3-4 p.m., and by appointment
Kelly Schroeder, Lecturer  kschroeder@csufresno.edu    PB 412  T 5-6 p.m.
Miho Schweizer, Lecturer mschweizer@scufresno.edu    PB 415  MW 10-11:45 a.m.
Chandra Shekar, Lecturer  chandras@csufresno.edu    IT 262  TTH 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

Michael Shepherd, Assistant Professor 

Michael

mshepherd@csufresno.edu 
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Discourse analysis
PB 411  F 11 a.m.-2 p.m.

John Simonian, Teaching Assistant

Simonian

john@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415 TTH 3-4 p.m.

Negin Tahvildary, Lecturer 

Negin

negin@csufresno.edu    MB 112  T 11 a.m.-noon 

Xinchun Wang, Professor 

Jean

xinw@csufresno.edu 

Chinese Program Coordinator

  • Applied phonetics/experimental phonetics
  • Cross-linguistic speech perception and production
  • TESOL theory and methodology
  • Computer-assisted language learning (CALL)
  • Online teaching and learning
  • Chinese language instruction
PB 413  Virtual: MW 10-11 a.m., Office: TTh 1:15-1:45 p.m. & 4:45-5:15 p.m. 

Kao-Ly Yang, Lecturer 

Kao

kayang@csufresno.edu 

 Hmong Coordinator

PB 412  MW 3-4:30 p.m., F 9:30-11:30 a.m.
Xinping Yu, Lecturer  xinpingyu@csufresno.edu    PB 418  F 7:50-9:50 a.m.

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus status is an honorary title awarded for distinguished service to the academic community. The President may bestow the title on a tenured faculty member or on an administrator who is entering permanent retirement and who has served the University with distinction. Bestowal of emeritus status is a distinctive honor, and emeriti faculty are regarded as an important and integral part of the university community.

* Denotes deceased

Frederick Brengelman (1957-1994) 

  • History of the English language
  • History of English linguistics
  • Language variation
  • email 

Edward Gammon (1966-1987) 

 

George Raney 

  • Teaching English as a Foreign Language
  • Applied English Linguistics

Jerry Hopkins (1964-1979)

 

Ritva Laury (1994-2007)

  • Discourse analysis
  • Functional syntax
  • Pragmatics
  • Language change
  • Finnish linguistics 

Gerald R. McMenamin (1980-2009) 

  • Analysis of linguistic variation
  • Stylistics
  • Spanish Linguistics
  • Corpus Linguistics
  • Forensic Linguistics
  • email

Karen Mistry

  • Language acquisition (first and second language and gender)
  • Applied linguistics (teaching of English grammar, spelling and reading)
  • Historical Linguistics (sub-Saharan languages especially southern African languages)
  • History of English
  • email

P. J. Mistry (1969-2004)*

  • Syntax
  • Indic Linguistics
  • Sanskrit 

Shigeko Okamoto (1998-2007)

  • Sociolinguistics
  • Japanese linguistics
  • Discourse analysis 

Vida Samiian (1984-2017)

  • Syntax
  • Persian language
  • email

Raymond S. Weitzman (1968-2001)* 

  •  Phonetics

Jack B. Zeldis (1969-2001)

  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Hebrew and Semitic linguistics