Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Brian Agbayani, ProfessorBrian bagbayan@csufresno.edu

Department Chair

  • Syntactic theory
  • Comparative syntax
  • Syntax-phonology interface         
PB 416  MWF 10 a.m.-noon
Denise Bissett, Department Administrative Assistant denise_bissett@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant PB 383  

Niken Adisasmito-Smith, Lecturer

Niken

nadisasmito@csufresno.edu    PB 422  MW 3:10-4:10 p.m., F noon-1 p.m.
Barbara Birch, Professor bbirch@csufresno.edu
  • English as a second language reading 
  • English grammar
  • Language attitude
  • Peace education                 
PB 420  Contact via email to set up a Skype appointment
John Boyle, Associate ProfessorBoyle jboyle@csufresno.edu 
  • Syntactic Theory
  • Morphology
  • Typology
  • Morpho-syntax interface
  • Language documentation and revitalization
  • Language pedagogy
PB 417  MW by appointment, TTH 9:45-10:45 a.m. and 12:30-1:45 p.m.
Laura Burke, Lecturer  laurab@csufresno.edu    PB 422  T 1:45-3:15 p.m., W 10-11:30 a.m.
Pei Chang, Teaching Assistant peichen@mail.fresnostate.edu   PB 418  

Jidong Chen, Professor 

Jidong

jchen@csufresno.edu 

Graduate coordinator

  • First and second language acquisition
  • Event construal and event representation
  • Cognitive linguistics
  • Language and cognition
  • Chinese linguistics               
PB 421  TTH 1:00-2:30 p.m.
Jaydene Elvin, Assistant ProfessorJaydene  jaydene@mail.fresnostate.edu 

TESL coordinator

  • TESL
  • L2 speech acquisition
PB 414 MWF 3:30-4:30 p.m., F 12:30-1:30 p.m.

Kelsey Evans, Lecturer  

Kelsey

kelseywithak@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 418  MW 2-3 p.m.

Sean Fulop, Professor

Sean

sfulop@csufresno.edu 

Cognitive Science Coordinator

  • Acoustic phonetics
  • Speech processing theory and methods
  • Computational linguistics theory
  • Mathematics of language
  • Mathematics and computation of learning
  • Web manager         
PB 423  MW noon-2 p.m.

Chris Golston, Professor

Chris

chris_golston@csufresno.edu 
  • Phonetics/phonology
  • Poetic meter
  • Morphology/syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Evolution of language
PB 424  MWF 11-11:50 a.m.
Tomoko Kozasa, Lecturer tkozasa@csufresno.edu

Japanese program coordinator

 
PB 415  MTWTH 2:15-3:15 p.m., W 9:30-10:45 a.m.
Ellen Lipp, Professor ellen_lipp@csufresno.edu 
  • Second language writing
  • Second language reading
  • TESL/TEFL methodology
  • Curriculum design
  • Cultural issues in TESL/TEFL
  • Language program administration      
PB 419  Coming soon 

Cho Ly, Lecturer 

cly@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 12:30-1:30 p.m., TTH 4-5 p.m. virtual

Victoria Malko, Lecturer

Victoria

vmalko@csufresno.edu   PB 422 W noon-1 p.m., F 9 a.m.-noon
Li Mann, Lecturer  lmann@cufresno.edu    PB 418  TTH 3-4:50 p.m.
Vongsavanh Mouanoutoua, Lecturer  vomouanoutoua@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 4:45-5:45 p.m.
Serina Nakazawa, Teaching Assistant  gt5610nkzwjp@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415  Coming soon 

Nasir Rashid, Lecturer

Nasir

nrashid@csufresno.edu    PB 422  MTWTH 8:40-9 a.m., MW 1-1:50 p.m.
Kelly Schroeder, Lecturer  kschroeder@csufresno.edu    PB 412  TTH 5-6 p.m.
Miho Schweizer, Lecturer mschweizer@scufresno.edu    PB 415  W 11 a.m.-1 p.m., TH 3:40-4:40 p.m.
Nalee See, Lecturer nalees@csufresno.edu    PB 412  MW 6-7 p.m.
Chandra Shekar, Lecturer  chandras@csufresno.edu    IT 262  TTH 11 a.m.-noon

Michael Shepherd, Assistant Professor 

Michael

mshepherd@csufresno.edu 
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Discourse analysis
PB 411  TTH 9:30-11 a.m.

John Simonian, Teaching Assistant

Simonian

john@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415 TTH 3:30-4:45 p.m.

Negin Tahvildary, Lecturer 

Negin

negin@csufresno.edu    MB 112  Coming soon 

Xinchun Wang, Professor 

Jean

xinw@csufresno.edu 

Chinese program coordinator

  • Applied phonetics/experimental phonetics
  • Cross-linguistic speech perception and production
  • TESOL theory and methodology
  • Computer-assisted language learning (CALL)
  • Online teaching and learning
  • Chinese language instruction
PB 413  Coming soon 

Kao-Ly Yang, Lecturer 

Kao

kayang@csufresno.edu 

 Hmong coordinator

PB 412  MWF 9-10 a.m., W 1:15-3:15 p.m.
Xinping Yu, Lecturer  xinpingyu@csufresno.edu    PB 418  MW 12:10-1:40 p.m.

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus status is an honorary title awarded for distinguished service to the academic community. The President may bestow the title on a tenured faculty member or on an administrator who is entering permanent retirement and who has served the University with distinction. Bestowal of emeritus status is a distinctive honor, and emeriti faculty are regarded as an important and integral part of the university community.

* Denotes deceased

Frederick Brengelman (1957-1994) 

  • History of the English language
  • History of English linguistics
  • Language variation
  • email 

Edward Gammon (1966-1987) 

 

George Raney 

  • Teaching English as a Foreign Language
  • Applied English Linguistics

Jerry Hopkins (1964-1979)

 

Ritva Laury (1994-2007)

  • Discourse analysis
  • Functional syntax
  • Pragmatics
  • Language change
  • Finnish linguistics 

Gerald R. McMenamin (1980-2009) 

  • Analysis of linguistic variation
  • Stylistics
  • Spanish Linguistics
  • Corpus Linguistics
  • Forensic Linguistics
  • email

Karen Mistry

  • Language acquisition (first and second language and gender)
  • Applied linguistics (teaching of English grammar, spelling and reading)
  • Historical Linguistics (sub-Saharan languages especially southern African languages)
  • History of English
  • email

P. J. Mistry (1969-2004)*

  • Syntax
  • Indic Linguistics
  • Sanskrit 

Shigeko Okamoto (1998-2007)

  • Sociolinguistics
  • Japanese linguistics
  • Discourse analysis 

Vida Samiian (1984-2017)

  • Syntax
  • Persian language
  • email

Raymond S. Weitzman (1968-2001)* 

  •  Phonetics

Jack B. Zeldis (1969-2001)

  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Hebrew and Semitic linguistics