Faculty and Staff Recognition


College of Arts and Humanities

Prof. Paulette Fleming - Art and Design, was named as one of Marjaree Mason Center's Top Business Professional Women of the Year.

College of Health and Human Services

Bee Yang, Department of Social Work Education - Appointed to Hmong Preservation Group

Betty Garcia, Department of Social Work Education - Chair of the National Committee on Racial and Ethnic Diversity, National Association of Social Work (NASW). Provided leadership in developing indicators for the achievement of the NASW Standards for Cultural Competence.

Barbara Foster, Department of Social Work Education - Central California Training Academy serves on the Statewide Initiative for Sexual Orientation Gender Identity Expression and the Fresno County LGBTQ Task Force and,

Soledad Caldera Gammage - Represents the Central California Training Academy on the Statewide Inidan Child Welfare Act Task Force.

Prof. Benjamin Cuellar - Recipient of the Valley Heritage Award honoring the best of California's Central Valley, October 2006. Dean Emeritus Cuellar was the first Chicano dean in the history of Fresno State.

College of Social Sciences

Prof. Mathew Jendian - Recipient of the "2012 President's Award of Excellence," established in Fall 2001 by the University Advisory Board at Fresno State in recognition of integrity, leadership and commitment to the university and community as exemplified by President John D. Welty. Dr. Jendian is an alumnus of Fresno State (B.A. in Sociology, 1991; minor degrees in Psychology & Armenian Studies) and lifetime member of Alpha Kappa Delta International Sociology Honor Society, and he has been a part of the Fresno State Sociology Department faculty since January 1995. Dr. Jendian is the founding director of the Humanics Program in Community Benefit Administration (established in Fall 1998) and also currently serves as a tenured Full Professor and Chair of the Sociology Department. He authored Becoming American, Remaining Ethnic (LFB Scholarly Publishing, 2008) and was honored in Menk, an encyclopedia of biographies of prominent Armenian scholars. Dr. Jendian is the recipient of several honors, including the 2008 "Provost's Award for Faculty Service," the 2007 Social Action Award from Temple Beth Israel, and the 2007 "Amigo Award" presented by Vida en El Valle to "a non-Latino individual or organization that has worked tirelessly on behalf of the Latino community." He was nominated for the 2009 California Campus Compact Cone Award for Excellence & Leadership in Cultivating Community Partnerships and has written and received national and federal grants to develop curricula that engage university students in capacity-building work with Community Benefit Organizations (CBOs) in Central California. Dr. Jendian has served as a board member for several CBOs, including Nonprofit Leadership Alliance (formerly American Humanics, Inc.), Buchanan Babe Ruth Baseball Association, Inc., Fresno Nonprofit Advancement Council, Fresno Housing Alliance, and Relational Culture Institute and as an external evaluator with local and multinational CBOs, including Porterville College and Armenian General Benevolent Union. 

Craig School of Business

Prof. Julie Olson-Buchanan - Management, was named as one of Marjaree Mason Center's Top Business Professional Women of the Year.

College of Science and Mathematics

Prof. Cui Lin - Recipient of the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing Scholarship Award selected from a competitive pool of over 1,100 qualified applicants, and Amazon Teaching Grants for Educators using AWS to support her Cloud Computing course in Spring 2012. For more information please visit her personal website.

Henry Madden Library

Julie Moore - Librarian in the Technical Services Department of the Henry Madden Library, is the 2010 winner of the Nancy B. Olson Award. This award recognizes a librarian who has made significant contributions to the advancement and understanding of audiovisual cataloging. As the plaque honoring Julie states, she was selected for significant and diverse contributions to audiovisual cataloging and catalogers at the local, state, and national levels over more than twenty years.

Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology

Prof. Kathie Reid- Recipient of the 2010 Spirit of Abraham Award from the Islamic Cultural Center of Fresno. For increasing the understanding of Islam and Muslims and promoting the diversity and values of Islam. For more information visit the ICCF's website.

Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Prof. Jack Benninga (Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction)- Recipient of the 2012 Sanford N. McDonnell Award for Lifetime Achievement in Character Education presented by the Character Education Partnership (CEP). CEP is a national nonprofit, nonpartisan, nonsectarian coalition of U.S. organizations and individuals dedicated to helping schools develop people of good character for a just and compassionate society. This annual award is named in honor of Sanford N. McDonnell, Chairman Emeritus of the McDonnell Douglas Corporation and CEP. It is CEP's highest honor. For complete details, please visit http://www.character.org/about/awards/sanford-n-mcdonnell-lifetime-achievement-award/.

Prof. Berta Gonzalez - Recipient of the Kremen School of Education and Human Development Professional Service Alumni Award in March 2011. She is the first Chicana in the history of Fresno State to receive this award for her contributions to the university, region, nationally and internationally. She is also the recipient of the Valley Heritage Award honoring the best of California's Central Valley Educator, October 2006. Associate Vice President and Professor Emerita Gonzalez was the first female Chicana in the history of Fresno to receive this honor.

Prof. Linda Hauser - Recipient of the  2010 Administrator of the Year Professor of Education Award -  Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) , Region IX

Office of Community and Economic Development

San Joaquin Valley Rural Development Center (SJVRDC) - The purpose of this initiative is to connect rural communities to a wide range of indispensable expertise, services, and resources to ensure their needs are met efficiently, effectively, and affordably. PDF | PDF | PDF

Alumni Recognition

Stefani Booroojian currently anchors KSEE 24 News at 4, 5, 6 and 6:30 p.m.

Alma Garcia has just been promoted to Area Director for Parent Institute for Quality Education.

Dr. Giri Hegde has authored over 20 books, written hundreds of journal articles, lectured all over the world, and is a Fellow of the American Speech and Hearing Association.

John Hernandez is the Director of the Central California Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

Tate Hill is the Director of the Fresno Metro Black Chamber of Commerce.

Lou Xiong is recognized as one of 55 selfless educators nationwide by the Milken Family Foundation.

Peter Robertson honored with the "Spirit of Caring Award"

Carissa Phelps, Cynthia Toepfert, and Anthony Rispoli featured in the Focus Forward U-Turns Allowed magazine publication.

Marion Karian received the outstanding alumni award and was the College's TOP DOG 2012.