Outstanding Advisor Awards

To learn more about the Campus Advisors Network (CAN) Award, click here

Faculty and staff recipients of the eighth annual Outstanding Advisor Awards were recognized at a reception in the University Dining Hall on Thursday, May 1, 2014. They were selected from a strong group of candidates nominated by students and colleagues, and announced by Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Andrew Hoff and Interim Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management and Dean of Students, Carolyn Coon.

This year's Outstanding Advisor Award recipients:

  • Carmen Avila – Office of Advising Services and Educational Opportunity Program
  • Renee Delport – Jan and Bud Richter Center for Community Engagement and Service-Learning
  • Dr. Christopher Pluhar – Earth and Environmental Sciences

These three went above and beyond typical advising duties to inspire many students to reach for higher goals, believe in themselves, and develop a love for their respective areas of study or service. They are an inspiration to both students and colleagues alike. 


 CAN recipients

Dr. Coon, Renee Delport, Dr. Christopher Pluhar, Dr. Hoff



 CAN Nominees

Dr. Coon, Renee Delport, John Mauer, May K. Lee, Dr. Christopher Pluhar, Donnie Golden, Martha Lomeli, Raul Moreno, Dr. Susana Hernandez, Dr. Jaymin Kwon, Dr. Hoff