Fall 2016 Semester Calendar

Back to Index                                           Printer Friendly Version

 

(dates subject to change)

April 2016

Monday, April 25 - Friday, April 29

Fall 2016 Early Registration for continuing students and new post-baccalaureate students begins.

May 2016

Monday, May 23
Application periods begins for MASTER'S and BACHELOR'S DEGREES to be granted in August 2016

Monday, May 23
Summer Session Classes Begin  

Monday, May 30
MEMORIAL DAY - Campus Closed

June 2016

Friday, June 10
Last day to file for MASTER'S Degrees for August 2016

Monday, June 13 - July 1

Fall 2016 "DOG DAYS" Orientation Sessions for Freshmen

Friday, June 17

LAST DAY TO file for BACCALAUREATE degrees for August 2016

LAST DAY TO:

  • Submit changes and clearances (incomplete grades, approval petitions, departmental approvals, transfer transcripts) required for graduation with a BACCALAUREATE DEGREE at the end of the Spring 2016 semester

July 2016

Monday, July 4
INDEPENDENCE DAY - Campus Closed

Tuesday, July 12 - Thursday, July 21
Fall 2016 "DOG DAYS" Orientation Sessions for Transfers

Tuesday, July 26

Fall 2016 “DOG DAYS” Orientation Session for Freshmen and Transfers

Friday, July 29
Fall 2016 Early Registration Fee Deadline - Tuition and other fees must be received on campus by 3:30 p.m. or paid on-line by midnight. Students will be cancelled for non-payment of fees. (Subject to change based on CSU Board of Trustees action)

Saturday, July 31 - Wednesday, August 3

The registration system will be unavailable for registration/add/drop activity.

August 2016

Thursday, August 4
 OPEN REGISTRATION BEGINS No registration appointment is needed

TBA
FRESNO STATE WELCOME WEEK

Friday, August 19
Fall 2016 Open Registration Fee Deadline -Tuition and other fees must be received on campus by 5:00 p.m. or paid on-line by midnight. Students will be cancelled for non-payment of fees. (Subject to change based on CSU Board of Trustees action)

Friday, August 19
Last day to submit a complete withdrawal for the Fall 2016 semester to receive 100% refund of tuition and other fees.

Friday, August 19

New Student Convocation at the Save Mart Center – 3:00 p.m.

Monday, August 22
FALL 2016 SEMESTER INSTRUCTION BEGINS

  • Refunds for complete withdrawal will be determined based on the date of the student's withdrawal on a pro-rated basis up through October 26, 2016
  • APPLICATION PERIOD BEGINS for BACCALAUREATE AND MASTER’S degrees to be granted in December 2016

September 2016

Monday, September 5
LABOR DAY - campus closed

Friday, September 2
LAST DAY TO:

  • Add a class without permission; last day to add with permission is September 19
  • Add a class by Wait List
  • Be eligible for a refund of tuition and other fees due to drop in units from full-time to part-time
  • Register for Credit by Examination (CBE)
  • Tuition and other fees will be determined by the number of units enrolled as of this date. Class schedule adjustments (add, drop, and/or swap) made after this date may result in a change in fee status from part-time to full-time.

Friday, September 9
Last day to file for MASTER'S degrees for December 2016

Monday, September 12
Last day to drop/withdraw online without permission

Monday, September 19
Last day for graduate students to apply for Advancement to Candidacy this semester to be eligible for graduation in May 2017


CENSUS DATE

LAST DAY TO:

  • Add a class with permission
  • Change to/from CR/NC grading
  • Take examination for Credit by Examination
  • Change from credit to audit or audit to credit registration
  • File for BACCALAUREATE DEGREES to be granted December 2016

Fall 2016 Late Registration Fee Deadline – Tuition and other fees must be received on campus by 5:00 p.m. or paid on-line by midnight. Students will be cancelled for non-payment of fees. (Subject to change based on CSU Board of Trustees action)

Drops after this date must have a serious and compelling reason and will have a grade of "W" listed on official University transcript.

October 2016

Monday, October 3
Last day for faculty to submit Credit by Examination grades

Wednesday, October 12

YOM KIPPUR

Wednesday, October 26
LAST DAY to submit a complete withdrawal and be eligible for a pro-rated refund of tuition and other fees. No refunds will be granted after this date.

Friday, October 28
Last day to file edited, committee-approved MASTER'S THESIS for December 2015 graduation.

Monday, October 31
Registration for Spring 2016 begins,

November 2016

Friday, November 11

VETERANS DAY- campus closed  

Tuesday, November 15
Last day to drop classes for serious and compelling reason; only drop/withdrawal for circumstances beyond the student's control, will be considered after this date

Wednesday, November 23
THANKSGIVING RECESS - no classes, offices open

Thursday, November 24 - Friday, November 25
THANKSGIVING RECESS - campus closed

December 2016

Wednesday, December 7
LAST DAY OF INSTRUCTION

Last day TO DROP (individual course)/WITHDRAW (complete program) for circumstances beyond the student's control

Thursday, December 8 - Friday, December 9
Final exam preparation and faculty consultation days

Monday, December 12 - Thursday, December 15
SEMESTER FINAL EXAMINATIONS

Wednesday, December 20
FALL 2016 SEMESTER ENDS

LAST DAY TO:

  • Submit incomplete make-up work or request extension of time for incomplete grades from Fall 2015
  • Submit to the Division of Graduate Studies Office the departmental clearance paperwork on behalf of December 2016 MASTER'S DEGREE candidates (include a copy of the completed final report on incomplete or in-progress work, if needed for graduation)

Wednesday, December 21 - Wednesday, January 11
WINTER RECESS

Monday, December 26 - Monday, January 2
 
CAMPUS CLOSED

Tuesday, December 27
Deadline for faculty to enter Fall 2016 grades

January 2017

Friday, January 13
Last day faculty can make on-line grade changes for Fall 2016

Friday, January 27
Last day for faculty to submit CHANGES and CLEARANCES (incomplete grades, approved petitions, departmental approvals, transfer transcripts) required for graduation with a BACHELOR’S DEGREE at the end of the Fall 2016 semester