Outstanding Advisor Awards

The prestigious Outstanding Advisor Awards are awarded annually to faculty and staff advisors who have demonstrated qualities associated with outstanding academic advising of students. Award recipients will be selected by the Interim Provost and Vice President for Student Affairs and receive $1,000 of professional development funding. The award ceremony is held in May every year. "Being nominated as outstanding advisor was a great honor to me. Students MAKE my job meaningful and so, when they nominated me for the award, it was VERY special to me!!  It's a pleasure for me to be able to help and guide them in any way I can." - Dr. Tamyra Pierce, Department of Mass Communication "Being a mentor is hard work and often you feel insecure in your abilities. When my students nominated me for this award, I knew that my hard work was not only appreciated but, more importantly, making an impact." - Dr. Shane Moreman, Department of Communication

Type of Advising Services Offered
General Education and Undeclared Advising OAS provides advising for General Education and graduation requirements for students, and assists undeclared students with exploring major options. Located in Joyal Administration Building, Room 224, 278-1787.
Major and Special Program Advising Students meet with their major advisor or special program advisor to discuss major requirements. 

Major advisors are sometimes assigned through the academic departments, while other majors have specific advising offices. Contact your major department to determine your major advisor.
Pre-Professional Advising Pre-Professional programs are available for students who plan to transfer to other institutions for the completion of professional curriculum.

Click here for information about Pre-Professional Advisors
How to Clear Mandatory Advising Holds See this PDF document with screen shots explaining how to clear the Mandatory Advising holds (MA1 and MA2).  
Graduate Program Advising The university offers 43 master's degree programs; a Joint Doctorate in Educational Leadership; and 7 certificates of advanced study. Located in the Thomas Administration Building, Room 132.