COSS Pillars

Learn more about the available resources. 

 

Study Abroad with COSS!

COSS Faculty outreach points of contact:

Dr. Melanie Ram mram@csufresno.edu 

Dr. Christopher Sullivan chsullivan@csufresno.edu

Study Abroad Office

https://studyabroad.fresnostate.edu/

Family and Food Sciences Building, Room 119 

Get to work with Internships

COSS Faculty outreach points of contact:

Dr. Dvera Saxton (Anthropology & any other major) dsaxton@csufresno.edu 

Dr. Harold Schweizer (CRIM Internship) haralds@csufresno.edu

Prof. Charles Shuler(CRIM Internship) chasha@sbcglobal.net

Dr. Lisa Bryant (Political Science) lbryant@csufresno.edu 

Dr. Jeffery Cummins (Political Science) jcummins@csufresno.edu 

Prof. Gina Wallace (Moot Court) gwallace@csufresno.edu

Interested in Teaching?

Social Sciences Credential Faculty outreach points of contact: 

Professor Robin Sischo (Social Sciences Single Subject Competency Plan) rsischo@csufresno.edu

Professor Carole Smoot (Social Sciences Credential Advisor) csmoot@csufresno.edu

COSS Graduate Program Faculty Advisor points of contact

Dr. Brad Jones (History Graduate Program Coordinator) brajones@csufresno.edu

Dr. Hollianne Marshall (Criminology Graduate Program Coordinator) holmarhall@csufresno.ed

Dr. Kurt Cline (Public Administration Graduate Program Coordinator) kcline@csufresno.edu

Research with a faculty member!

Speak with your department chair, program coordinator, or your course professor to find out how to get more involved with faculty research project.

Africana Studies Program Coordinator- Dr. DeAnna Reese, dreese@csufresno.edu

Anthropology Chair- Dr. James Mullooly, jmullooly@csufresno.edu

Chicano & Latin American Studies Chair- Dr. Cristina Herrera cherrera@csufresno.edu

Criminology Chair- Dr. Emma Hughes, emhughes@csufresno.edu

Geography & City Regional Planning Chair- Dr. Michelle Calvarese, mcalvare@csufresno.edu

History Chair- Dr. Ethan Kytle, ekytle@csufresno.edu

History Assistant Professor - Dr. Romeo Guzman, romeog@csufresno.edu

Political Science Chair- Dr. Melanie Ram, mram@csufresno.edu

Political Science Professor - Dr. Ali Masood, amasood@csufresno.edu

Sociology Chair- Dr. Matthew Jendian, matthewj@csufresno.edu 

Women's Studies Program Coordinator- Dr. Kathryn Forbes, kathrynf@csufresno.edu

Give back to the community by Service-Learning!

 

The courses listed below have community service components. These are courses that have no or very little course pre-requisites. If you want to know more about community service but do not want to take a class please see the Jan and Bud Richter Center for a very extensive community service listing. 

http://www.fresnostate.edu/academics/cesl/

SERVICE LEARNING COURSE LIST:

AGED 120S- Leadership & Communications (2 units)

CFS 143S- Children at Risk (3 units)

COMS 1 - Com Serv-Learn (1-3 units)

CRIM 120S - Juvenile Delinquency (3 units)

LEE 101S - Early Learning for School Success (3 units)

LEE 109S - Literacy Engagement in the Community (3 units)

LEE 144S - Service-Learning Pedagogy and Practice (3 units)

MKTG 100S - Marketing Concepts pre OR co requisite BA 105W or ENGL 160W (3 units)

RA 73S - Leadership in Recreation, Parks, and Tourism (3 units)

RA 77S - Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Programming (3 units)

SOC 1S - Principles of Sociology (3 units)

SOC 3S - Critical Thinking About Society (3 units)

SOC 130WS - Contemporary Social Issues (4 units)

SOC 184S - Grant Writing & Evaluation (3 units)

SOC 186S - Governance, Administrative Principles, & Financial Literacy (3 units)