Leon S. Peters Award

Richard "Dick" Caglia named recipient of the 2014 Leon S. Peters Award

Mar 6 by FresnoChamber

Mr. Caglia was chosen as the 2014 recipient of the award based on outstanding leadership through devotion of his time and talents in order to better the community. The criterion for the selection of this year’s recipient was based upon his accomplishments, personal and public service, which has exemplified the spirit of an enlightened, responsible free enterprise system.

As said by Fresno Chamber President and CEO, “The Caglia family has been a precious jewel in the community for decades.  The father of Dick, Frank Caglia, was a Leon S. Peters award winner in 1988.  Dick and the entire second and third generation has continued their contribution to enhancing and preserving the foundation of our community.  Caglia is a magical name through Fresno’s growth and we are proud to acknowledge that contribution.”

The Leon S. Peters Award honors those who share the characteristics of its namesake, a man who overcame great hardship to become one of the San Joaquin Valley’s top business leaders. From a simple beginning, Mr. Peters worked to become a great success while also using his creativity and vision to give back to our community through service on numerous boards and donations totaling millions of dollars in the name of a variety of causes. In short, Leon S. Peters was revered as a businessman, a civic leader, and a philanthropist who devoted his life to the community while living and working according to the highest ethical standards.

Mr. Caglia was presented with the award at the 35th Annual Valley Business Awards Luncheon which was held on March 6th, 2014, at the New Exhibit Hall, 848 M Street.

Previous distinguished recipients of this award include: John Horstmann,  Dr. Peter Mehas, Dr. Peter P. Peters, Joe Williams, Lou Herwaldt, Bill Jones, Sid Cox, Bud Richter, O. James Woodward III, Samuel Reeves, Octavia Diener, Robert Oliver, Frederick Ruiz, Anne Speake, Larry A. Shehadey, Claude Laval III, Robert Carter, Richard Johanson, James Hallowell, Lou Gentile, Earl Smittcamp, Helen Smades, William Lyles, Martin Nelson, Joe Levy, Frank Caglia, B. Franklin Knapp, James B. Mayer, Robert Duncan and Lewis B. Eaton.