Faculty Directory




Abramson, Shareen


Office: Education Building, Rm 436
Phone: (559) 278-1230
E-mail: shareena@csufresno.edu

Akhavan, Nancy


Office: Education Building, Rm443
Phone: (559) 278-0345
E-mail: nakhavan@csufresno.edu

Alamillo, Laura


Office: Education Building, Rm 269
Phone: (559) 278-0280
Email: lalamillo@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Core

Areas of Expertise:  Bilingual education policy, theory and method; education of culturally and linguistically diverse students; second language acquisition theory and methods; Latina/o children's literature; language issues in education

Arenz, Bernard

Office: Education Building, Rm 453
Phone: (559) 278-0037
Email: barenz@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Basurto, Imelda

Office: Education Building, Rm263
Phone: (559) 278-0285
E-mail: ibasurto@csufresno.edu

Bathina, Jyothi


Office: Education Building, Rm267
Phone: (559) 278-0532
Email: jbathina@csufresno.edu
Website: literatevoices.org

Area of Expertise: Secondary Reading; Reaching and Teaching At Risk Youth; Critical and Functional Literacy.

Beare, Paul


Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Office: Education Building, Rm 210
Phone: (559) 278-0210
Email: pbeare@csufresno.edu
Website: Message from the Dean of Education

DPELFS Graduate Group – Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: Special education; emotional and behavioral disorders; applied behavior analysis; single subject research; special education law; supported employment.

Becton, Alicia

Alicia Brown

Office: Education Building, Rm 345
Phone: (559) 278-0433
Email: alicbrown@csufresno.edu

Behrend, Jean


Coordinator, Partnership Program

Office: Education Building, Rm 231
Phone: (559) 278-0235
Email: jeanb@csufresno.edu

Benavides, Otto E.

Director, Instructional Technology and Resource Center and NASA Educator Resource Center

Office: Education Building, Rm 481
Phone: (559) 278-0377, (559) 278-0379
Email: ottob@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Integration of technology in the curriculum, technology planning, school technology administration, technology support administration, technological professional development for teachers and school administrators, photo and video production, media production, mobile technologies, video conferencing, social media, distance learning, international relations.

Bennett, Lisa

Lisa Bennett

Office: Education Building, Rm 265
Phone: (559) 278-0243
Email: lbennett@csufresno.edu

Benninga, Jacques S.


Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction (CI)
Director, Bonner Center for Character Education and Citizenship

Office: Education Building, Rm 250
Phone: (559) 278-0253
Email: jackb@csufresno.edu

Website: www.fresnostate.edu/bonnercenter

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; developmental psychology; character education.

Biacindo, Kathryn

Office: Education Building, Rm 250
Phone: (559) 278-0321
Email: kbiacindo@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Cultural and psychological foundations of education.

Billen, Monica

Office: Education Building, Rm 259
Phone: 559.278.0267
E-mail: mbillen@csufresno.edu

Bohlin, Carol Fry


Office: Education Building, Rm 234
Department Phone:(559)278-0240; Mail Stop: ED2
Email: carolb@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Mathematics education; professional development for math teachers; educational neuroscience; mathematics learning and teaching styles.

B.A. The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
M.H.D.L. The University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Ph.D. The Ohio State University

Professor, Mathematics Education

Mathematics and Science Teacher Initiative(MSTI)
Director (2007-Present)
California Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (CAMTE)
President (2004-2006)
California Online Mathematics Education Times (COMET)
Editor (2000-Present)
CSU Mathematics Education Resource Center (CSU MERC)
Director (2000-Present)
NCTM News Bulletin: Assessment Issues Column
Editor (2003-2004)
San Joaquin Valley Mathematics Project (SJVMP)
Principal Investigator (1990-Present)
Strategies for Teacher Excellence Promoting Student Success (STEPSS)
Co-Principal Investigator and Coordinator, Master's Cohort:
K-8 Mathematics (1998-2005)

Bohlin, Roy M.


Co-Director, Teaching and Leading for Educational Needs with Technology (TALENT) Project
Coordinator, Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Technology
Graduate Program Coordinator
Master of Arts in Education, Curriculum and Instruction Option

Office: Education Building, Rm 241
Phone: (559) 278-0245
Email: royb@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction; technology integrated into curriculum; educational statistics; advanced instructional theories and strategies.

Boris, Virginia


Office: Education Building, Rm 350
Phone: (559) 278-0292
Email: vboris@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: K-12 education administration; central office administration; curricular leadership; systems and quality applications for educational leadership; curriculum mangagement audits; classroom walk throughs; program evaluation; curriculum/instruction/assessment alignment; formative assessment; building instructional leaders; examining student work; standards-based instruction; leadership strategies to impact academic achievement; mastery learning.

Top of Page


Caldera, Cheryl


Director, California Reading & Literature Project

Office: Education Building, Rm 371
Phone: (559) 278-0429
Email: ccaldera@csufresno.edu

Chen, Feiyan

Office: Education Building, Rm 267
Phone: 559.278.0222
E-mail: fchen@csufresno.edu

Choi, Kyoung Mi

Office: Education Building, Rm 465
Phone: 559.278.0070
E-mail: kchoi@csufresno.edu

Cole, Kim

Kim Cole
Director, Teacher Internship Program

Office: Education Building, Rm 220
Phone: (559) 278-0246
Email: kimcole@csufresno.edu

Coy, Kimberly

Office: Education Building, Rm 357
Phone: 559.278.0724
E-mail: kcoy@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


DeVoogd, Glenn


Chair, Department of Literacy, Early, Bilingual, and Special Education (LEBSE)

Office: Education Building, Rm250
Phone: (559) 278-0279
E-mail: gdevoogd@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Glenn DeVoogd

DPELFS Graduate Group - Core

Areas of Expertise: Critical literacy; literacy instruction; reading; writing; uses of technology; social studies; policy, research; assessment.

Top of Page


Garcia, Juan C.


Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm431
Phone: (559) 278-0287
Email: juang@csufresno.edu

Garnett, William

Office: Education Building, Rm 341
Phone: 559.278.0448
E-mail: wgarnett@csufresno.edu

Gonzalez, Juan Carlos


Office: Education Building, Rm371
Phone: (559) 278-9001
Email: jcg@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Critical Race Theory (CRT) and Latina/o Critical Theory (LatCrit) in Education; Visual Ethnography and Qualitative Research Methods; Educational Policy and History; Multicultural and Latino Educational Issues; Academic Socialization of Doctoral Students and Faculty

Top of Page


Hart, Steven


Office: Education Building, Rm247
Phone: (559) 278-0319
E-mail: smhart@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated

Areas of Expertise: Literacy education and teacher professional development; literacy education for diverse learners; critical literacy, service-learning, and educational equity and justice; school reform; afterschool literacy programs; school-wide literacy assessment plans.

Hauser, Linda


Office: Education Building, Rm 459
Phone: (559) 278-0362
Email: lhauser@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Leadership Systems research; tranformational change; performance excellence; school leadership; organization development.

Hernandez, Ignacio

Ignacio Hernandez

Office: Education Building, Rm 369
Phone: (559) 278-0166
Email: ihernandez@csufresno.edu

Research interests and areas of expertise: Community college leadership, Latina/o leaders, community college transfer student experiences, educational access and equity for historically marginalized communities, survey research methods, and critical geographies.

Hernandez, Susana

Susana Hernandez

Office: Education Building, Rm 365
Phone: (559) 278-0320
Email: suhernandez@csufresno.edu

Research interests and areas of expertise: Latino educational opportunity, immigration and education, Hispanic Serving Institutions, critical policy analysis, critical qualitative inquiry

Huerta, Teresa


Office: Education Building, Rm253
Phone: (559) 278-0364
E-mail: thuerta@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Teresa Huerta

Top of Page


Juarez, Sara Werner

Office: Education Building, Rm 339
Phone: 559.278.0307
E-mail: swerner@csufresno.edu

Koobatian, Steven


Office: Education Building, Rm445
Phone: (559) 278-0316
E-mail: skoobatian@csufresno.edu

Kohl, Taryn

Taryn Kohl

Office: Education Building, Rm 389
Phone: (559) 278-0456
Email: tkohl@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Lam, Sarah


Interim Associate Dean
Office: Education Building, Rm205
Phone: (559) 278-0205
Email: sarahl@csufresno.edu

Lee, Song


Department Chair
Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: malee@csufresno.edu

Lomeli, Jose


Office: Education Building, Rm251
Phone: (559) 278-0361
Email: josel@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Leadership Development for youth through Experiential Education; Group Dynamics for Staff Development; Instructional Methodology; Pre-Service Teacher Delivery Models; Migrant Education; Culturally Responsive Education.

Low, David

Office: Education Building, Rm 269
Phone: 559.278.0208
E-mail: dlow@csufresno.edu

Lucey, Christopher


Associate Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm437
Phone: (559) 278-0407
Email: clucey@csufresno.edu

Luna, Christina

Office: Education Building, Rm 459
Phone: 559.278.
E-mail: christinal@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Magdaleno, Ken


Chair, Department of Educational Research and Administration (ERA)

Office: Education Building, Rm369
Phone: (559) 278-0309
Email: kmagdaleno@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Mentoring of Latina and Latino educational administrators; equity in educational administration; the effect of Latina and Latino educational leaders as role models; managing educational organizations; multi-cultural coaching; closing the achievement gap; instructional leadership; mentoring.

Marshall, James


Associate Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development
Director, Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership at Fresno State (DPELFS)

Office: Education Building, Rm205
Phone: (559) 278-0205
Email: jamesm@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: School curriculum reform; assessment; science education.

Mata, Susana C.

Office: Education Building, Rm457
Phone: (559) 278-0363
E-mail: susanam@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and instruction, teacher education, sociology of education, teaching and learning in academically and linguistically diverse classrooms, sociology of the classroom, social organization of schools, and educational research and evaluation.

Mathis, Catherine


Office: Education Building, Rm021
Phone: (559) 278-0228
E-mail: cmathis@csufresno.edu

McDonald, Cheryl

Office: Education Building, Rm 359
Phone: 559.278.0412
E-mail: cmcdonald@csufresno.edu

Miller, Libbi

Libby Miller

Office: Education Building, Rm 249
Phone: (559) 278-0019
Email: elmiller@csufresno.edu

Monke, Robert H.


Office: Education Building, Rm100
Phone: (559) 278-0412
Email: robertmo@csufresno.edu
Website: teacherhonorwall.com

Moosoolian, Jane


Office: Education Building, Rm100
Phone: (559) 278-0115
Email: janem@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Nelson, Frederick


Office: Education Building, Rm257
Phone: (559) 278-0261
E-mail: fnelson@csufresno.edu

Nyberg, Lisa


Office: Education Building, Rm233
Phone: (559) 278-0236
Email: lnyberg@csufresno.edu

Areas of expertise would include: science education, inquiry science, technology, teacher education, multiple intelligences, communication, and classroom management.

O'Neill, Barb

Barb O'Neill

Director, Joyce M. Huggins Early Childhood Center

Office: Education Building, Rm259
Phone: (559) 278-0267
E-mail: boneill@csufresno.edu

Parks, Joe

Office: Education Building, Rm243
Phone: (559) 278-0260
Email: jparks@csufresno.edu

Pham, Kien


Office: Education Building, Rm245
Phone: (559) 278-0247
Email: kienp@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Math instruction for second language learners.

Phillips, Emy Lopez

Office: Education Building, Rm 361
Phone: 559.278.0446
E-mail: ephillips@csufresno.edu

Pierce, Marinn


Office: Education Building, Rm347
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: lpierce@csufresno.edu

Pitt, Jenelle


Office: Education Building, Rm435
Phone: (559) 278-0304
Email: jepitt@csufresno.edu

Powell, Dana


Office: Education Building, Rm343
Phone: (559) 278-0288
Email: danac@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Quisenberry, Janine


Director, Professional Field Experience

Office: Education Building, Rm239
Phone: (559) 278-0257
Email: jquisenb@csufresno.edu

Raheem, Malik


Office: Education Building, Rm349
Phone: (559) 278-0326
E-mail: mraheem@csufresno.edu

Schlievert, Susan


Office: Education Building, Rm449
Phone: (559) 278-0348
Email: susansc@csufresno.edu

Sharma, Gitima

Office: Education Building, Rm 463
Phone: 559.278.0069
E-mail: gsharma@csufresno.edu

Shelton, Marilyn


Office: Education Building, Rm261
Phone: (559) 278-0268
E-mail: marilyns@csufresno.edu

Shen, Hong


Office: Education Building, Rm345
Phone: (559) 278-0289
Email: hshen@csufresno.edu

Smith, Dan

Office: Education Building, Rm441
Phone: (559) 278-0329
E-mail: dans@csufresno.edu

Top of Page


Tanner, David


Office: Education Building, Rm373
Phone: (559) 278-0254
Email: davidt@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Educational psychology; statistics and measurement; educational research; quantitative and qualitative evaluation; assessing student achievement; evaluating classroom assessment instruments; evaluating the performance of teachers and teacher candidates.

Torgerson, Colleen


Office: Education Building, Rm255
Phone: (559) 278-0328
Email: colleent@csufresno.edu
Curriculum Vita: Colleen Torgerson

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Special Education: mild/moderate disabilities, services for infants to students age 22, legal issues, IEP development - student-led IEPs; Leadership and Administration in Education: K-12 and higher education; Teacher Education; University Freshman Experience: learning communities

Tracz, Susan M.


Office: Education Building, Rm447
Phone: (559) 278-0347
Email: susant@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Statistical methodology (general linear model issues, meta-analysis); educational reform (national teacher certification); counseling (interprofessional collaboration, dream/imagery techniques in counseling).

Ullrich, Walter


Coordinator, Master of Arts in Teaching Program

Office: Education Building, Rm455
Phone: (559) 278-0356
Email: wullrich@csufresno.edu

Unruh, Ronald P.


Office: Education Building, Rm353
Phone: (559) 278-0257
Email: ronu@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Evaluation and assessment; bilingual education.

Valencia, Albert


DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated

Office: Education Building, Rm331
Phone: (559) 278-0283
Email: albertv@csufresno.edu

Vang, Anthony


Office: Education Building, Rm273
Phone: (559) 278-0284
E-mail: tvang@csufresno.edu


Top of Page


Wahleithner, Juliet

Office: Education Building, Rm 271
Phone: 559.278.
E-mail: jwahleithner@csufresno.edu

Wandeler, Christian

Christian Wandeler

Office: Education Building, Rm 439
Phone: (559) 278-0355
Email: cwandeler@csufresno.edu

Watson, Jennifer

Office: Education Building, Rm 461
Phone: 559.278.0354
E-mail: jmoradianwatson@csufresno.edu

Weir, Kyle


Office: Education Building, Rm433
Phone: (559) 278-0169
Email: kweir@csufresno.edu

Wise, Donald


Coordinator, Education Administration Credential Programs

Office: Education Building, Rm355
Phone: (559) 278-0298
Email: dwise@csufresno.edu

DPELFS Graduate Group – Core

Areas of Expertise: Educational leadership; instructional supervision; educational reform and reform models; planning for higher achievement; school and district planning; changing school cultures.

Yukhymenko, Mariya

Office: Education Building, Rm 449
Phone: 559.278.3925
E-mail: mariyay@csufresno.edu

Yun, Cathy

Cathy Yun

Office: Education Building, Rm 235
Phone: (559) 278-0238
Email: cyun@csufresno.edu

Top of Page