Graduate Group Faculty

Doctoral degree programs at California State University, Fresno represent the highest level of academic scholarship and student professional achievement offered through the campus. The quality of educational and scholarly experiences that the university can offer to students in doctoral programs requires program faculty who have the requisite disciplinary knowledge and scholarly experience to direct and examine doctoral student work. Doctoral programs require student guidance from faculty members who possess the highest level of scholarship and knowledge in the field and who meet campus requirements for membership in a doctoral graduate group.

Akhavan, Nancy

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Room 350

nakhavan@csufresno.edu

 

 

Becton, Alicia

Counselor Education & Rehabilitation

Education Building, Room 350

abecton@mail.fresnostate.edu

 

Coy, Kim

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Room 250

kcoy@mail.fresnostate.edu

 Espána Najera, Annabela

 Chicano & Latin American Studies

 aespanajera@mail.fresnostate.edu

Gonzalez, Juan Carlos

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Room 310

jcg@mail.fresnostate.edu

Hannigan, Jessica

 

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Rm 389

jhannigan@csufresno.edu

Hauser, Linda

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Room 350

lhauser@mail.fresnostate.edu

Hernandez, Ignacio

Director of Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership

Office: Education Building, Room 397

Phone: (559) 278-0166

ihernandez@csufresno.edu

Hernandez, Susana

DPELFS Core Graduate Faculty

Office: Education Building, Room 310

suhernandez@csufresno.edu

B.A. Political Science - University of California, Irvine
B.A. Sociology - University of California, Irvine
M.S. Counseling, Student Development in Higher Education - California State University, Long Beach
Ph.D. Education, Higher Education Administration - Iowa State University

Areas of Expertise:
Latino educational opportunity
Immigration and education
Hispanic Serving Institutions
Critical policy analysis

Low, David

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Room 250

dlow@mail.fresnostate.edu

Luna, Christina

DPELFS Affiliate Graduate Faculty

Education Building, Rm 459

Email: christinal@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Educational Leadership with an emphasis on mentoring Latino/a leaders; Social justice and equity with an emphasis on English language learners and students of color; Educational policy/ history of Mexican Americans.

Macias, Luis Fernando

Chicano & Latin American Studies

luisfernando@mail.fresnostate.edu

Mehta, Rohit

Curriculum & Instruction

Education Building, Room 250

mehta@mail.fresnostate.edu

 

Mullooly, James

Professor, Department Chair of Anthropology

Peters Building, Rm254

jmullooly@csufresno.edu

Website: James Mullooly

Areas of Expertise: Qualitative methods; ethnography; applied Anthropology; ethnomethodology; social reproduction; culture theory; teaching English as a second/foreign language; middle school methods.

Nelson, Frederick

Liberal Studies 

Education Building, Rm257

fnelson@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise: Science Education, Reflective Practice, Naturalistic Inquiry, Self-study of Teacher Education Practices, Integration of Technology in Teacher Education

Phan, Trang

Curriculum & Instruction

Education Building, Room 250

tphan@mail.fresnostate.edu

Pryor, Jonathan

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Room 310

jpryor@mail.fresnostate.edu

Rodriguez, Joseph

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Room 250

rjrodriguez@mail.fresnostate.edu

Soltero-Lopez, Ana

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Room 250

asolterolopez@mail.fresnostate.edu

Tracz, Susan

Curriculum & Instruction

Education Building, Room 250

susant@mail.fresnostate.edu

Valencia, Albert

Counselor Education & Rehabilitation

Education Building, Room 250

albertv@mail.fresnostate.edu

Van Horn, Selena

Liberal Studies

Education Building, Room 350

svanhorn@mail.fresnostate.edu

Wahleithner, Juliet

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Rm 271

jwahleithner@csufresno.edu

Area of Expertise: Writing instruction at the secondary level, in-service and pre-service teacher development, inquiry, program evaluation, qualitative methodology.

 Walsh, Nichole

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Room 310

nwalsh@mail.fresnostate.edu

Wandeler, Christian

Curriculum & Instruction

Education Building, Rm 461

cwandeler@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise:
Development of Hope and Motivation

Watson, Jennifer Moradian

Educational Leadership

Education Building, Rm 439

jmoradianwatson@csufresno.edu

Areas of emphasis include:  teacher retention, alternative discipline structures and the promotion of non-suspension alternatives, curriculum and instruction systems and leadership in P-12 schools.

Werner Juarez, Sara

 

Literacy, Early, Bilingual, & Special Education

Education Building, Rm 339

swerner@csufresno.edu

Areas of expertise include: special education, school-wide and classroom-based positive behavioral interventions and support, intensive behavioral interventions for students with disabilities, students with moderate/severe disabilities, inclusive school practices, and collaborative practices to support teachers, paraprofessionals, families, and other IEP team members

Yi Borromeo, Varaxy

Educational Leadership 

Education Building, Rm310

varaxy@mail.fresnostate.edu

Yukhymenko, Mariya

 

Curriculum & Instruction

Education Building, Rm 449

mariyay@csufresno.edu

Areas of Expertise:
Methodological: research design and methods, development and use of interview protocols and questionnaires or scales, statistical analysis, analysis of interview data.
Substantive: motivation in education, learning theories, ethical conduct, technology in education, student academic achievement and performance, evaluation of professional development programs for teachers, student-athletes academic retention and graduation.