Department of
Counselor Education and Rehabilitation

Education Building, ED350

Department Chair:
Sarah Lam

Phone:
(559) 278-0340

Address:
5005 N. Maple Ave. M/S ED3
Fresno, CA 93740-8025

Frequently Asked Questions

Department Annual Reports can be found on our Accreditation webpage at
http://www.fresnostate.edu/kremen/about/accreditation.html

 

Welcome to the Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation!Sarah Lam

The Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation offers a variety of exciting educational opportunities for postbaccalaureate students seeking professional careers in the fields of Counselor Education. All programs are fully accredited and are recognized for excellence and innovation.

Our Counselor Education program offers the Master of Science (MS) Degree in Counseling with options in Marriage, Family, and Child Counseling, School Counseling and Student Affairs and College Counseling, and the MS Degree in Rehabilitation Counseling. We also offer the California Pupil Personnel Services (PPS) Credential for students seeking a career in school counseling.

We have earned special recognition from the Western Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (WACES) by receiving the Exemplary Program Award for outstanding innovations in providing professional preparation for counselors. The MS degree in Counseling with option in Marriage and Family Therapy is CACREP Accredited, and the MS degree in Rehabilitation Counseling is CORE Accredited.

Department Chair and Staff

Sarah Lam
Chair, Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation (CER)
Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0283
Email: sarahl@csufresno.edu

April Cardiel
Rehabilitation Counseling Program
Administrative Assistant

Office: Education Building, Rm152
Phone: (559) 278-0158
Email: acardiel@csufresno.edu

Ann Marquez
Administrative Support Coordinator
Office: Education Building, Rm350C
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: anmarquez@csufresno.edu

Department Faculty

Garcia, Juan C.

faculty

Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm431
Phone: (559) 278-0287
Email: juang@csufresno.edu

Koobatian, Steven

Office: Education Building, Rm445
Phone: (559) 278-0316
E-mail: skoobatian@csufresno.edu

Lam, Sarah
Department Chair/Coordinator, Pupil Personnel Services Program

faculty

Department Chair
Special Assistant to the Dean
Pupil Personnel Services Credential Program

Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: sarahl@csufresno.edu

Lee, Song

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm451
Phone: (559) 278-0349
Email: malee@csufresno.edu

Lucey, Christopher

faculty

Associate Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center

Office: Education Building, Rm437
Phone: (559) 278-0407
Email: clucey@csufresno.edu

Morillo, Janell

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0350
Email: janellt@csufresno.edu

Pierce, Marinn

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm347
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: lpierce@csufresno.edu

Pitt, Jenelle
Coordinator, Rehabilitation Counseling Program

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm435
Phone: (559) 278-0304
Email: jepitt@csufresno.edu

Raheem, Malik
Path Facilitator, SACC Counselor Education Program

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm349
Phone: (559) 278-0326
E-mail: mraheem@csufresno.edu

Shaeffer, Ruth
Ruth Schaeffer
Office: Education Building, Rm350
Phone: (559) 278-0340
Email: rshaeffe@csufresno.edu
Smith, Dan

Office: Education Building, Rm441
Phone: (559) 278-0329
E-mail: dans@csufresno.edu

Valencia, Albert

faculty

DPELFS Graduate Group - Affiliated

Office: Education Building, Rm331
Phone: (559) 278-0283
Email: albertv@csufresno.edu

Weir, Kyle
Coordinator, Counselor Education Program

faculty

Office: Education Building, Rm433
Phone: (559) 278-0169
Email: kweir@csufresno.edu