Director 

Susan M. Pheasant, Ph.D.

Phone: 559.278.4405

Biography

Dr. Susan Pheasant was hired in August 2018 as the 6th Director of the Institute for Food and Agriculture (IFA). Dr. Pheasant has consulted with national and international agribusinesses and non-profit organizations to implement change technologies and educational programs, helped growers prepare for 3rd party food safety certification audits, and conducted audits in the fresh fruit/vegetable industries. Most recently she held the position of director of the Ag Business and Technology Institute at Hartnell College in Salinas, CA.  She is part of a six-generation lineage of apple growers within the United States (primarily Washington State). However, her “friends” fondly describe her as a “world nomad fruit bum.”
 
Dr. Pheasant’s educational background includes undergraduate degrees in Agricultural Economics and Business Administration (Washington State University) as well as an MBA-Ag Specialization (Cal Poly-SLO) and an Interdisciplinary Ph.D. incorporating ag econ, marketing, education, and rural sociology (WSU) to evaluate how growers make decisions to adopt new technologies and ideas. She collaborates regularly with food safety experts around the country to steward the Harmonized food safety standard as well serves on the GLOBAL G.A.P. national technical working group. 

Administrative Coordinator  

Allyson Baldus

Phone: 559.278.4405
Email: abaldus@mail.fresnostate.edu 

 


Student Assistants

Shania DeJarnett, Agricultural Business

sdejarn10@mail.fresnostate.edu

 

Pujitha Reddy Surpareddy, Computer Science 

pujithareddys@mail.fresnostate.edu

 Kirthi Reddy Kotha, Computer Engineering

 kithi123@mail.fresnostate.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Research Associates

Bill Erysian, Ph.D., Agricultural Economics, International Development
Phone: (559) 278-5115 | Office: CATI Research 111 | Mail Stop: 115 
Email: bille@csufresno.edu
Bill Eryian Bio
 
Katy Tarrant, Ph.D
Phone: (559) 278-2901 
Email: ktarrant@csufresno.edu 
Katy Tarrant Bio
 
Alejandro Calderon-Urrea
Phone: (559) 278-3963
Email: calalea@csufresno.edu
Alejandro Calderon-Urrea Bio
 
Andrea Roach, Ph.D
Phone:(559) 278-5141
Email: aroach@csufresno.edu
Andrea Roach Bio
 
Sara Shinn, Ph.D
Phone:(559) 278-2558
Email: sshinn@csufresno.edu
Sara Shinn Bio
 
Avery Culbertson, Ph.D
Phone: (559) 278-2904
Email: aculbertson@csufresno.edu
Avery Culbertson Bio
Serhat Asci, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Agricultural Business
Phone: (559) 278-8590 | Office: Peters Bldg 312 | Mail Stop: PB 101
Email: sasci@csufresno.edu
Serhat Asci Bio
 
Santanu Maitra, Ph.D
Phone: (559) 278-2961
Email: smaitra@csufresno.edu
Santanu Maitra Bio
 
Amanda McKeith, Ph.D
Phone: (559) 278-4331
Email: amckeith@csufresno.edu
Amanda McKeith Bio
 
Jiaochen (Jason) Liang, Ph.D 
Phone: (559) 278.5686
Email: jiaochenl@csufresno.edu 
Jiaochen (Jason) Liang Bio
 
Kyle Thompson, Ph.D
Phone: (559) 278-2873
Email: kthompson@csufresno.edu
Kyle Thompson Bio
 
Jacob Wenger, Ph.D
Phone:  (559) 278-7754
Email: jawenger@csufresno.edu
Jacob Wenger Bio