Faculty & Research

Jason A. Bush, jbush@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
Ph.D. University of British Columbia
Research activities: Genetics and Cellular Biology; Cell culture; molecular and cell biology of cancer progression/metastasis; membrane/cytoskeletal regulation of cell movement; anti-cancer drug treatment; SNP/mutational analyses; comparative/quantitative proteomics and mass spectrometry

John Bushoven, jbushoven@csufresno.edu, Plant Science Dept.
Ph.D. University of Rhode Island
Research Activities: Nitrogen and carbon partitioning in grasses and the development of plant tissue culture methodologies

Alejandro Calderon-Urrea, calalea@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~calalea
Ph.D. Yale University
Research Activities: Molecular genetics of programmed cell death (PCD) in plants; Use of PCD in plant biotechnology; PCD during sex determination in plants; Transgenic plant development and plant biotechnology; Biofuels and other metabolites from algae

Paul R. Crosbie, pcrosbie@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
Research Activities: Host-parasite interactions; parasite life history strategies, population ecology, and disease ecology; impacts of parasitism on host populations; ectoparasitic and free-living arthropod taxonomy and systematics; arthropod vectored diseases; molecular approaches to parasite identification, systematics, and population genetics; protozoal endoparasites of insects

Andrew Fiala, afiala@csufresno.edu, Philosophy Dept.
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Green Bay 
Research Activities: Bioethics

Erin Dormedy, edormedy@csufresno.edu, Food Science and Nutrition Dept.
Ph.D. University of Nebraska, Lincoln
Research Activities: Intervention methods for the control of foodborne pathogens, food safety and biosecurity, HACCP implementation and validation, development of HACCP intervention methods, food industry outreach and technology transfer

James Farrar, jfarrar@csufresno.edu, Plant Science Dept.
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Research Activities: Research focuses on environmental conditions conducive to disease development and appropriate methods to control or manage disease outbreaks.

Dennis Ferris, dennisf@csufresno.edu, Food Science and Nutrition Dept.
Ph.D. Kansas State University
Research Activities: Sensory Evaluation, Waste Management; Food Processing; Quality Assurance; Product Development

Joy Goto, jgoto@csufresno.edu, Chemistry Dept.
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Research Activities: Neurobiochemistry;  Drosophila melanogaster as a model organism of environmental neurotoxin exposure and neuronal degeneration; Oxidative stress and metal ion homeostasis; Mammalian neuronal cultures for protein studies of Alzheimer's Disease

Krish Krishnan, krish@csufresno.edu, Chemistry Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~vkrishnan
Ph.D. Indian Institute of Science
Research Activities: Biophysical Chemistry, Molecular Biophysics, Biomolecular NMR, computational biology and Bioinformatics

Prudence Lowe, plowe@csufresno.edu, Computer Science Dept.
PharmD, University of California, San Francisco
Research Activities: Computer programming, bioinformatics

Santanu Maitra,santanu_maitra@csufresno.edu, Chemistry Dept.
Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from University of Nevada, Reno
Research Activities: Organic chemistry, bio-organic chemistry, medicinal chemistry, green chemistry, infectious diseases, neuro and cardiovascular diseases

Ulrike Müller,umuller@csufresno.edu, Biology Department
PhD. University of Groningen 
Research Activities: Biomechanics of animal locomotion; fish swimming, animal flight, bio fluid mechanics; ontogenetic development of locomotion, biochemical implications of ontogenetic development and niche shifts in aquatic organisms; science communication

Mamta Rawat, mrawat@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~mrawat/
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
Research Activities: Medical Microbiology; Molecular pathogenesis and pathogenomics; Drug resistance; Biochemistry and the role of thiols in microorganisms; Stress response of microorganisms; Bioremediation capacity of actinomycetes

Larry G. Riley, Jr., lriley@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
Ph.D. University of Hawaii
Research Activities: Organismal physiology and endocrinology, Comparative endocrinology, Endocrine regulation of growth, glucose and fat metabolism, Neuroendocrine mediators of appetite

Timothy Stearns, timothys@csufresno.edu, Management Dept.
http://www.lylescenter.com/
D.B.A. Indiana University
Research Activities: Nascent entrepreneurs, technology entrepreneurs

Brian Tsukimura, briant@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~briant/
Ph.D. University of Hawaii
Research Activities: Comparative Physiology, Invertebrate Physiology, Crustacean Biology, Reproductive Endocrinology, Chemical Mediators Regulating Yolk Protein formation, Endocrine disrupters and amphibians, Invasive species

George Vozikis, gvozikis@csufresno.edu, Management Dept.
Ph.D. University of Georgia
Research Activities: Entrepreneurship, family business management, strategic management, international business, organizational behavior

Alice Wright, awright@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~awright/
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Research Activities: Bioremediation, microbial physiology, metagenomics, comparative genomics, molecular studies of the metabolism of xenobiotics and agrichemicals in microorganisms, molecular assessment of microbial ecology and diversity

Hwan Youn, hyoun@csufresno.edu, Biology Dept.
http://zimmer.csufresno.edu/~hyoun/
Ph.D. Seoul National University
Research Activities: Molecular biology, bacteriology; bacterial genetic responses to environmental cues, especially gases; genetic, biochemical and genomic approaches to the roles of bacterial proteins as transcription factors