ISDS offers two certificates:

Requirements for Certificate Programs

Prior to entering either of these programs, applicants will need to demonstrate that they have completed at least 6 units of elementary accounting and are conversant in computer concepts (equivalent to IS 52 and 52L at a minimum.) Applicants must also fill out the appropriate form in the ISDS Department office prior to entering either certificate program. Approval of the certificate program coordinator or the department chair is required.


Applicants for either certificate will need to meet one of the following criteria:

  1. Have a bachelor's degree in any field from an accredited institution or
  2. Have an associate of arts degree from a two-year accredited college   and a minimum of two years of business experience or
  3. Have a major in business (except IS) at an accredited four-year institution of higher education.

Note: Students majoring in IS (or an equivalent program) are not eligible for these certificates.

Certificate in Business Information Systems

Required Courses (9 units)
IS 158, 166, 181 

Elective Courses (6 units)
Select a minimum of 6 units from the following: IS 51, 140, 141,153, 182, 183,186, 195
Not offering: IS 106, 156T, 162, 184, 190 

Certificate in Network Administration

Students must have a background in IS and a strong interest in computer network environment.

Required Courses (9 units)
IS 141: 
Cyber Security, IS 181: Computer Networks Management , IS 182: Advanced Network Design and Management  
IS 162, 181, 182- Old requirements 

Elective Courses (6 units)
Select a minimum of 6 units from the following: IS 51, 140, 158, 166, 183, 186, 195. 
Not offering: IS 106, 156T, 184, 190.

Certificate in Data Analytics 

Required Courses (9 Units)
DS 135: Data Analytics 
DS 189T: Business Intelligence W/ Advanced Spreadsheet
ECON 123: Introduction to Economics 

Elective Courses (6 Units) 
IS 153, ACCT 146, DS 195, FIN 123, IS 140, IS 186