Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Certificate in Cross-Cultural Competency

The College of Health and Human Services and the Department of Social Work Education jointly offer a certificate of special study in cultural competency. Twelve (12) units of selective study are required that include two core courses and two related interdisciplinary electives. The certificate is designed to prepare students for professional practice in culturally diverse settings in the fields of business, education, health care, and human service. All coursework must be taken for a letter grade and completed with a grade of C or better in each of the six required units and six units of electives.

TO APPLY: Please type the corresponding application and turn it into our office along with a copy of your unofficial transcripts.

Cross Cultural Competency Application

Required Courses (6 units)

  • SWRK 136 - Cultural Diversity & Oppression
  • SWRK 137 - Cross Cultural Human Services

Elective Courses (6 units)

Take two 3-unit courses from different categories shown below.

(Application is at the top of this section)