Gerontology, Minor

Department

Gerontology Program

Helen Miltiades, Director
Professional and Human Services, Room 107A
559.278.7253
www.fresnostate.edu/chhs/social-work/degrees-programs/gerontology/

Degrees and Programs Offered

MN in Gerontology, Minor

Gerontology is the study of aging. Our nation’s steadily increasing older population is creating a unique demand for well educated individuals to serve as competent professionals in the field of aging.

The Gerontology Program offers a minor and a certificate in gerontology, both designed to prepare students to address unmet and urgent needs of elders. Special majors can also be arranged for the student. The Gerontology Program attracts undergraduate students from all academic areas, reentry students, graduate students within social science and health professions, service providers, and elders seeking greater understanding of this stage of life.
Courses are designed to present comprehensive biological, psychological, cultural and sociological theories related to the lifelong aging process. The influence of heritage, culture, and creativity are emphasized, as are services and resources; housing and environment; disabilities and rehabilitation; federal, state, and local agencies; and social polices and programs for elders. Students have the opportunity to develop empathy for older adults as they communicate and interact with elders through community service, internships, and service learning.

Courses

Gerontology

GERON 10S. Journey of Adulthood: Planning a Meaningful Life

An introduction to; theories, concepts, perspectives, and in the study of aging; psychological, physiological, sociological, cultural, ethnic issues fundamental to planning a meaningful life during the journey of adulthood. Develop a healthy lifestyle. Cultivate lifelong learning and satisfaction. G.E. Breadth E1. (Formerly GERON 10)

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall, Spring
GE Area: E1

GERON 18. Women and Aging

(WS 18 same as GERON 18.) Interdisciplinary course designed to facilitate the understanding of older women and the physiological, psychological, and social aspects of the aging process. G.E. Breadth E1. (Formerly WS 118)

Units: 3
GE Area: E1

GERON 100. Images of Aging in Contemporary Society

Prerequisites: G.E. Foundation and Breadth Area D. Explores aging theories; multicultural potrayals of aging through art, literarure, and media; examines generational/ societal perceptions of aging. Develops awareness of competence in recognizing different images, and examines the influence of these images on societal/ emotional status, resources and other elder issues. G.E. Integration ID.

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall, Spring
GE Area: ID

GERON 103. Psychology of Aging

(GERON 103 same as PSYCH 103.) Psychological study of maturity and old age; physiological and sociological considerations.

Units: 3

GERON 111. Heritage and Aging

Aging is continual from birth to death. Events throughout a person's life coincide with dates of many different historical, cultural, and humanistic occurrences. Students explore the interrelationship of events to an elder's heritage, creativity, and potential for succesful aging. G.E. Breadth E1.

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall
GE Area: E1

GERON 115. Health Issues of Aging

(PH 115 same as GERON 115.) Basic principles and concepts of the aging process; includes the physical, social, emotional and mental components of health. Benefits of health promotion and preventive action for the aging are also explored.

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall, Spring

GERON 125. Social Services for the Aging

(SWRK 125 same as GERON 125.) Students will be acquainted with the common bio-psycho social needs of the aging in the United States and the social services available to meet those needs. Within the context of social work values and problem-solving methods, attention will be given to issues of ethnicity, gender, and gaps in services.

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Spring

GERON 132. Alzheimer's Disease

Focuses on Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and other related dementias. Course will include a complete assessment, evaluation, and treatment of AD. (Formerly GERON 180T section)

Units: 1

GERON 134. Mental Health and Caregiving

The impact of mental disorders on older adults and their caregivers will be presented. Evidence-based guidelines for care, patient and caregiver issues, and non-pharmacologic management principles to delay institutionalization and promote caregiver peace of mind will be addressed.

Units: 3

GERON 137. Community Service in Gerontology

Prerequisite: Permission of instructor. Service oriented course designed to provide opportunities to observe, interact, and learn from elders in gerontological settings. Hour requirements are supported through writing and discussion of issues and solutions. Credit/No Credit grading. (Formerly GERON 180T)

Units: 1-3

GERON 139. Death and Dying

Exploration of personal values and beliefs as well as diverse spritual and cultural beliefs, groups regarding death, and its meaning for living. Practical matters surrounding death are also addressed. (Formerly GERON 180T)

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall

GERON 140. Aging in America: Politics & Change

An introduction to policies, politics, and programs of an aging society. The course will examine the historical, social, cultural, economic, and demographic issues affecting the elderly and will provide an overview of federal and state legislation and programs for older Americans.

Units: 3

GERON 148. Biophysical Aspects of Aging

(KINES 148 same as GERON 148) Theories of aging, biological mechanisms of the aging process, and the role of physical activity in those physiological functions influenced by age. (Spring only)

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Spring

GERON 150. Communication and Aging

(COMM 150 same as GERON 150.) Focusing on the communication aspects of the aging process, organized around the major communication components of intrapersonal, interpersonal, and mass communication with addition of such topics as attitudes, stereotypes, nonverbal, and the communication aspects of health care.

Units: 3

GERON 161. Multiculture/Aging

Prerequisite: G.E. Foundation and Area D. Explores diversity and commonality among older persons. Analysis of ways demographic, ethnic, cultural, location, and situation topics relate to gerontological concepts, research, and theories. Presents problems with health, socioeconomic, and minority issues. Discusses ageism, racism, and sexism. G.E. Multicultural/ International MI.

Units: 3
Course Typically Offered: Fall
GE Area: M/I

GERON 180T. Topics in Gerontology

Various topics in the field of aging; subjects such as Alzheimer's disease, health, aging, and elder abuse. Content varies from semester to semester.

Units: 1-3, Repeatable up to 9 units

GERON 185. Internship in Gerontology

Prerequisites: upper division or graduate standing and permission of instructor. Supervised work experience in gerontology. May be coordinated with student's major, e.g., business and gerontology. CR/NC grading only.

Units: 1-6
Course Typically Offered: Fall, Spring

GERON 190. Independent Study

See Academic Placement -- [-LINK-]. Approved for RP grading.

Units: 1-3, Repeatable up to 6 units
Course Typically Offered: Fall, Spring

Requirements

Gerontology Minor

The Minor in Gerontology (study of aging) is open to students in any major. It is designed to serve undergraduate majors in business; communicative sciences and disorders; child, family, and consumer science; health science; nursing; kinesiology; physical therapy; psychology; therapeutic recreation; social work; and sociology.

The minor consists of 15 semester units of credit. Students should register in the Gerontology Program Office and meet with the gerontology director if they plan to request a minor.

Coursework must be completed with a C or better.

Required (6 units)
GERON 10S or GERON 100; GERON 161

Electives (9 units)*
GERON 103, 111, 115, 117, 125, 132, 134, 137 (1-3 units), 139, 140, 148, 150

Total (15 units)

*Other gerontology courses may be approved as alternatives with permission of a gerontology adviser.

Note: The Gerontology Minor also requires a 2.0 GPA and 6 upper-division units in residence. If students take a cross-listed course from their major, the cross-listed course only counts toward the Gerontology Minor if the unit requirements for the major can be met without using the cross-listed course toward their major.

A Special Major for those interested in Gerontology may be designed. The process for this is initiated through the Office of Advising Services, 559.278.1787, Joyal Administration, Room 224.

Faculty

Name Degree Email Phone
Aguiniga, Dolores G Master of Social Work daguiniga@mail.fresnostate.edu
Armistead, Magdalena Master of Social Work marmistead@csufresno.edu 559.278.6851
Barrera, Iran Doctor of Philosophy irbarrera@csufresno.edu
Barretto, Herman J Master of Social Work hbarretto@csufresno.edu
Barton, Dorothy J Master of Social Work dobarton@csufresno.edu
Bauer, Louise M Master of Social Work lbauer@csufresno.edu
Carlin, Andrea B Master of Social Work andreac@csufresno.edu 559.278.3039
Clarke, Kristi Doctor of Social Welfare kclarke@csufresno.edu 559.278.2985
Clift-Kezirian, Renee T Master of Social Work reclift@csufresno.edu
Cole, Christopher D Master of Social Work ccole@csufresno.edu 559.278.6698
Cromwell, Kathleen M Master of Science kcromwell@csufresno.edu
Cuellar, Benjamin Doctor of Social Welfare benc@csufresno.edu 559.278.5217
Dailey, William H Doctorate of Education wdailey@csufresno.edu 559.278.4212
Delich, Nancy Doctorate of Education ndelich@csufresno.edu
Espinoza, Daniel S Master of Social Work despinoza@csufresno.edu 559.278.1663
Fazil, Rohina Master of Social Work rfazil@csufresno.edu
Florez, Corinne L Master of Social Work corinnef@csufresno.edu 559.278.2910
Foster, Barbara A Master of Social Work bfoster@csufresno.edu 559.228.4093
Foster, David J Master of Social Work davidfo@csufresno.edu 559.228.4055
Freitas, Frankie L Master of Social Work frankief@csufresno.edu
Garcia, Betty Doctor of Philosophy bettyg@csufresno.edu 559.278.2550
Gilmore, Alan D Master of Social Work agilmore@csufresno.edu
Gonzales, Anne G Master of Arts angonzales@csufresno.edu
Grant, Stephanie A Master of Social Work stgrant@csufresno.edu
Halpern, Vicki L Master of Social Work vhalpern@csufresno.edu
Hardina, Donna L Doctor of Philosophy donnah@csufresno.edu 559.278.2307
Harris, Debra M Doctor of Philosophy dharris@csufresno.edu 559.278.2966
Hernandez, Virginia R Doctor of Philosophy virginiarh@csufresno.edu 559.278.8478
Himes, Howard K Master of Social Work hhimes@mail.fresnostate.edu
Huerta, Catherine A Master of Social Work chuerta@mail.fresnostate.edu
Hurt, Fred B Master of Arts fhurt@csufresno.edu
Karageozian, Diana E Master of Social Work dkarageozian@csufresno.edu
King-Bates, Jennifer A Master of Social Work jkingbates@csufresno.edu
Lama, Gyanesh Doctor of Philosophy glama@csufresno.edu
LeValley, Michelle R Doctor of Philosophy mlevalley@csufresno.edu
McKee, Bruce D Master of Social Work bmckee@csufresno.edu
Middleton, E J Doctor of Social Welfare jmiddlet@csufresno.edu 559.278.2688
Miltiades, Helen B Doctor of Philosophy hmiltiades@csufresno.edu 559.278.7253
Montana, Salvador M Doctor of Philosophy smontana@csufresno.edu 559.278.8581
Moua, Xong Master of Social Work xmoua@csufresno.edu
Person, Darrin O Master of Social Work dperson@csufresno.edu
Person, Iris N Master of Social Work irperson@csufresno.edu
Petrovich, Anne S Doctor of Philosophy apetrovi@csufresno.edu 559.278.8319
Rangel, Joseph Master of Social Work jrangel@mail.fresnostate.edu
Reiser, Fred M Master of Social Work freiser@csufresno.edu
Saldivar, Estella F Master of Social Work esaldiva@csufresno.edu 559.278.8494
Sanchez, Greg Master of Social Work grsanchez@csufresno.edu
Schneider, Jill Master of Science jschneider@csufresno.edu 559.278.7253
Shearer, Juliette B Master of Science jshearer@csufresno.edu 559.278.7253
Siegel, Dolores R Master of Social Work dsiegel@csufresno.edu 559.278.7279
Simpson, Roger A Doctor of Philosophy rsimpson@csufresno.edu 559.278.5385
Speakes, Eleanor O Master of Social Work espeakes@csufresno.edu
Tabay, Kelly A Master of Social Work kkagawa@csufresno.edu
Van Noy, Cindie D Master of Arts cvannoy@csufresno.edu 559.278.7253
Vungkhanching, Martha Doctor of Philosophy marthavu@csufresno.edu 559.278.8741
Washington, Benita M Master of Social Work bwashington@csufresno.edu
Whittle, Cheryl A Master of Social Work cherylw@csufresno.edu 559.278.8687
Woodard, Kelly L Master of Social Work kwoodard@csufresno.edu
Xiong, Yeng Master of Social Work yxiong@csufresno.edu 559.278.6846
Yang, Bee Master of Social Work beey@csufresno.edu 559.278.6489