Philosophy faculty at 2017 ConvocationDepartment of Philosophy Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Spring 2020 Office Hours
Kathy Adams kathya@csufresno.edu Department Chair MB 102a  By Appointment
Ruth Aparicio rutha@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant MB 102   

Mariana Anagnostopoulos

 marianaa@csufresno.edu Ancient Greek Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Psychology, Theory of Action MB 111  W 9:30a-12p (and by appointment)

John Beversluis

jbeversluis@csufresno.edu   IT 117 W 1-2p (and by appointment)

Carolyn Cusick

 ccusick@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Gender and Race, Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Education MB 103  MW 11:15a-12:45p (and by appointment)

Andrew Fiala

 afiala@csufresno.edu Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, War and Peace MB 114  Sabbatical

Thomas Higgins 

 thiggins@csufresno.edu Contemporary Ethics and Cultural Theory MB 110  TuTh 12:15-2p; W 3-5p (weeks class meets on campus; and by appointment)

Veena Howard

 vehoward@csufresno.edu Asian Religious Traditions including Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism MB 109  Sabbatical

Sudarshan Kapoor

skapoor@csufresno.edu   MB 113  Tu 3-4p (and by appointment)

Vadim Keyser

 vkeyser@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Philosophy of Science Policy MB 107 

M 5-6p; Tu 3:15-6p; W 4:30-7p; M 8-9p (digital) (and by appointment)

Robert Maldonado

 robertma@csufresno.edu Religion, Hermeneutics, Feminism MB 112  TuTh 1-2p (and by appointment)

Aldea Mulhern

aldea@csufresno.edu Anthropology of Religion; Performance, Practice, and Ethics; Food and Foodways; Judaism; Islam; Method and Theory MB 115 M 11a-1p (and by appointment)

James Rocha

 jamesr@csufresno.edu Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Philosophy MB 101  MW 9-10a; MWF 2-3p (and by appointment)

Negin Tahvildary

 negin@csufresno.edu Law, Peace Studies, Middle East Studies MB 110  TuTh 12:20-135p (and by appointment)

M. Amine Tais

mtais@csufresno.edu Comparative Religion (Judaism, Christianity, Islam); Religion and Reform; Religion and Feminism; Religion and Secularism; Religion and Violence; Religious Extremism; Islamic Intellectual History; Modern Islamic Thought; Qur'anic Studies MB 113 MWF 11a-1p (and by appointment)
Terry Winant  terryw@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Feminism MB 108  MW 2:30-4:30p; Tu 2:30-3:30p (and by appointment)

Emeritus Faculty

Pedro Amaral  (1987-2018)

  • University of Pittsburgh B.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, Epistemology, Cognitive Science, History of Philosophy (especially Modern), Rationalism 

Karen Bell            (1987-2011)  

  • Boston University A.B.; University of Kansas M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Law

Ann E. Berliner   (1984-2015)

  • Goddard College B.A.; California State University, Sonoma M.A.; Graduate Theological Union Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Comparative Religion

Donald Blakeley (1989-2008)

  • California State University, Fresno B.A.; University of Hawaii M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Comparative (Asian/Western), Ancient Greek and Roman, Philosophy of Religion, Chinese Philosophy

Hague Foster     (1966-1998)

  • University of Chicago B.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests:  Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Marxism

Warren Kessler (1968-2007)

  • Rutgers University B.A.; University of Wisconsin M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ethics, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy 

Jack Pitt             (1957-1997)

  • Sir George Williams College B.S.; McGill University B.A., M.A.; Yale University Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Marxism 

James Slinger    (1969-2003)

  •  University of Wisconsin B.S., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Logic, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

James Smith      (1959-1966; 1969-1991)

  • University of Southern California B.A.; Brown University M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests:  Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Social Philosophy