Philosophy faculty at 2017 ConvocationDepartment of Philosophy Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Spring 2019 Office Hours
Sergio LaPorta slaporta@csufresno.edu Department Chair Music Building 102A TTh 1-2, T 3:30-4:30
Ruth Aparicio rutha@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant MB 102   

Mariana Anagnostopoulos

 marianaa@csufresno.edu Ancient Greek Philosophy, Ethics, Moral Psychology, Theory of Action MB 111  W 1-3

John Beversluis

jbeversluis@csufresno.edu    MB 110 W 3:30-4:30

Tina Fernandes Botts

 tbotts@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Philosophy, Ethics, Applied Ethics, Ethical Theory, Hermeneutics  MB 105  

Carolyn Cusick

 ccusick@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Gender and Race, Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Education MB 103  MW 1:30-3

Andrew Fiala

 afiala@csufresno.edu Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, War and Peace MB 114  TTh 12:30-2

Thomas Higgins 

 thiggins@csufresno.edu Contemporary Ethics and Cultural Theory MB 110  MTTh 2-3:15, TTh 11-12:15 (weeks class meets on campus)

Veena Howard

 vehoward@csufresno.edu Asian Religious Traditions including Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism, Jainism MB 109  MW 10:50-11:50 & 1-1:40

Sudarshan Kapoor

skapoor@csufresno.edu   MB 113  T 3-5

Vadim Keyser

 vkeyser@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Philosophy of Science Policy MB 107  T  4-5 & 7:50-8:30, W 4-6, M 3-6 (M via digital)

 

Robert Maldonado

 robertma@csufresno.edu Religion, Hermeneutics, Feminism MB 112  TTh 9-10:30, W 1-1:50

Aldea Mulhern

aldea@csufresno.edu Anthropology of Religion; Performance, Practice, and Ethics; Food and Foodways; Judaism; Islam; Method and Theory MB 115 T 3:15-5, W 11-1:15

James Rocha

 jamesr@csufresno.edu Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Race, Feminist Philosophy MB 101  MW 9-9:50,   MWF 12-12:50

Negin Tahvildary

 negin@csufresno.edu Law, Peace Studies, Middle East Studies MB 110  TTh 11-12

M. Amine Tais

mtais@csufresno.edu Comparative Religion (Judaism, Christianity, Islam); Religion and Reform; Religion and Feminism; Religion and Secularism; Religion and Violence; Religious Extremism; Islamic Intellectual History; Modern Islamic Thought; Qur'anic Studies MB 113 M-F  10-11
Terry Winant  terryw@csufresno.edu Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language, Feminism MB 108  T 3:30-5, W 12-2, F 12-2 (F via Zoom)

Emeritus Faculty

Pedro Amaral  (1987-2018)

  • University of Pittsburgh B.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Philosophy of Science, Epistemology, Cognitive Science, History of Philosophy (especially Modern), Rationalism 

Karen Bell            (1987-2011)  

  • Boston University A.B.; University of Kansas M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Law

Ann E. Berliner   (1984-2015)

  • Goddard College B.A.; California State University, Sonoma M.A.; Graduate Theological Union Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Comparative Religion

Donald Blakeley (1989-2008)

  • California State University, Fresno B.A.; University of Hawaii M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Comparative (Asian/Western), Ancient Greek and Roman, Philosophy of Religion, Chinese Philosophy

Hague Foster     (1966-1998)

  • University of Chicago B.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests:  Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Marxism

Warren Kessler (1968-2007)

  • Rutgers University B.A.; University of Wisconsin M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Ethics, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy 

Jack Pitt             (1957-1997)

  • Sir George Williams College B.S.; McGill University B.A., M.A.; Yale University Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Marxism 

James Slinger    (1969-2003)

  •  University of Wisconsin B.S., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests: Logic, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology

James Smith      (1959-1966; 1969-1991)

  • University of Southern California B.A.; Brown University M.A., Ph.D.
  • Research Interests:  Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Social Philosophy