Faculty and Staff

The Department of Music full-time and part-time faculty has backgrounds in varied areas of specialization. Many members of the faculty have national and international reputations as performing artists and teachers. Others are well known for their scholarly research, articles, and books. They are all dedicated to providing students with the best music education possible both in their classes and studios.

Administration

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Department Chair)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 134 Mon: 4-5pm
Tue: 2-3pm
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Graduate Program Coordinator)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 Tue: 11-12pm, 2-4pm
Thur: 11-12pm

Top

Woodwind

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Teresa Beaman Teresa Beaman
(Flute)
teresab@csufresno.edu MB 244 By Appointment only
 Elisa Moles Elisa Moles
(Flute)
elisamoles@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 244 Coming Soon
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Saxophone)

adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142 Tue: 8:30-9:30am
Thur: 9-10am
Larry Gardner Larry Gardner
(Bassoon, President's Quintet)
larryg@csufresno.edu MB 174 Tue: 1-2pm, (Others by appointment only)
Miles Ishigaki Miles Ishigaki
(Clarinet)
milesi@csufresno.edu MB 146 M-F: 8:50-9:50 am, (Others by appointment only)
No Picture Rachel Aldrich
(Oboe)
raldrich@csufresno.edu MB 155 By appointment only
  Aaron Luna (Clarinet) amarcusl@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 174 By appointment only

Top

Brass

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
  Joel Elias
(Trombone/
Euphonium)
joelias@csufresno.edu MB 224 Tue, Wed by appointment only
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240  
Ed Hull Ed Hull
(Tuba)
ehull@csufresno.edu MB 224 Mon: 10am-4pm
Picture Not Available Nathan Sobieralski
(Trumpet)
nsobieralski@csufresno.edu MB 224  

Top

Percussion

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Percussion)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144 Mon: 4-5pm
Tue: 2-3pm
Brian Hamada Brian Hamada
(Percussion)
bhamada@csufresno.edu MB 134  
David Gabrielson Dave Gabrielson
(Percussion)
dgabrielson@csufresno.edu MB 134  

 

 Top

Strings

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Jazz String Bass/Jazz Studies)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115 Mon: 10-11am
Wed: 10-11:am
(By appointment only)
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Cello)
Symphony Orchestra
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165 Mon: 3-4pm
Wed: 3-4pm
Limor Toren-Immerman Limor Toren-Immerman
(Violin/Viola)
ltoren@csufresno.edu MB 161  
  Michael Chang
(Viola)
woongjoon@gmail.com MB 174  
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Guitar)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150

Mon: 8am-9am

 

Bruce Bransby Bruce Bransby
(String Bass)
bbransby@csufresno.edu MB 165  

Top

Voice

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities/Chamber Singers/Concert Choir/Masterworks Chorus)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Director of University Singers)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 Mon-Fri: 3-4 PM (Others by appointment only)
Brigid deJong Brigid deJong
(Voice)
bdejong@csufresno.edu MB 243 Tue: 11:30-12pm
Wed: 10-10:30am
Thur: 11-12:00pm
Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Voice/Opera)
Area Coordinator,
Opera Theatre
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163  
Maria Briggs Maria Briggs
(Voice/Opera)
mbriggs@csufresno.edu MB 173 Mon: 1-2pm
Tue: 3-4pm
Wed: 1-3pm
Thur: 3:30-4:30pm

Top

Keyboard

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Lenore Hiebert Lenore Hiebert
(Piano/Ensemble)
lenoreh@csufresno.edu MB 155 Thur: 12:00-12:30pm and 1:30 to 3:00pm
Fri: 11:00am-12:00pm
Andreas Werz Andreas Werz
(Piano)
andreasw@csufresno.edu MB 159  

Top

Theory and Composition

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Benjamin Boone Benjamin Boone
(Theory and Composition)
bboone@csufresno.edu MB 248 Teaching Abroad

 

Kenneth Froelich Kenneth Froelich
(Theory and Composition)
kfroelich@csufresno.edu MB 250  
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240 Mon: 12-1pm
TTh: 10-11am
Bryce Cannell Bryce Cannell
(Music Theory)
brycecannell@csufresno.edu MB 137  

Top

 Jazz Studies

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Director Jazz Orchestra/Jazz Combos)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115  

Craig VonBerg

Craig VonBerg (Jazz Piano/Jazz Ensemble) cvonberg@csufresno.edu MB 172  
  Les Nanes (Jazz Trombone) lesnanes@comcast.net MB 134  
No Picture Max Hembd (Ethnomusicology) mhembd@csufresno.edu MB 174  
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Jazz Woodwinds)

adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142  
Brian Hamada Brian Hamada
(Percussion)
bhamada@csufresno.edu MB 134  

Pop/Rock/Jazz

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours

Roger Gonzales

Roger Gonzales rogonzales@csufresno.edu MB 172  

Craig VonBerg

Craig VonBerg (Jazz Piano/Jazz Ensemble) cvonberg@csufresno.edu MB 172  
Picture Not Available Nathan Sobieralski
(Trumpet)
nsobieralski@csufresno.edu MB 224  


Top

Music Education

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
No Picture Sandra Giersch
(Music Ed)
sgiersch@csufresno.edu MB 137 Th: 1-3pm, (Others by appointment only)
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Music Ed Coordinator)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 Mon: 3-4pm
Th: 3-4pm
Fri: 11:30-12:30pm
Tony Mowrer Tony Mowrer
(Music Ed Coordinator)
tmowrer@csufresno.edu MB 246
Tue: 2:00PM-3:00PM
Wed: 2:00PM-4:00PM
Thur: 2:00-3:00PM

Top

Music History and Ethnomusicology

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Ethnomusicology)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 Tue: 11-12pm, 2-4pm
Thur: 11-12pm
John Karr John Karr
(Music History and
Ethnomusicology)
jkarr@csufresno.edu MB 238 MWF: 1-1:30 pm
M: 5:30-6:00pm
TTh: 3:30- 4:00pm
No Picture Partow Hooshmandrad
(Ethnomusicology)
phooshmandrad@csufresno.edu MB 216  Sabbatical Fall 2017
No Picture Max Hembd (Ethnomusicology) mhembd@csufresno.edu MB 174  

 

Top

Ensemble Directors

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Director Clendenin Brass Quintet)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240 Mon: 12-1pm
TTh: 10-11am
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Director of Percussion Ensemble)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144 Mon: 4-5pm
Tue: 2-3pm
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Jazz String Bass/Jazz Combo)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115  
Gary Gilroy Gary P. Gilroy
(Director of Bands/
Wind Orchestra)
garygi@csufresno.edu MB 140 TTh: 10-10:30am
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities/Chamber Singers/Concert Choir/Masterworks Chorus)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Director of Mariachi Ensemble)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 Tue: 11-12pm, 2-4pm
Thur: 11-12pm
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Director of Orchestra/
String Quartet)
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165 Mon: 3-4pm
Wed: 3-4pm
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Director of University Singers)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 Mon: 3-4pm
Thur: 3-4pm
Fri: 11:30-12:30pm
Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Director of Opera Theater)
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163 Tue: 9-9:30am
Wed: 9-9: 30 am
Thur: 9-10am
Larry Gardner Larry Gardner
(Bassoon)
larryg@csufresno.edu MB 174 Tue: 1-2pm, (Others by appointment only)
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Director of Guitar Ensemble)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150 Mon: 8-9am
Tue: 9 am
Wed: 8:30 am
Thur: 9 am Fri: 8 am 
McKeithen Steven McKeithen
(Associate Director of Bands/Athletic Bands)
smckeithen@csufresno.edu MB 139  

Top

Teaching Associates

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Tim Shaghoian (Jazz) tshaghoian@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 142  
Marc McGhee
(Music 20)
marcanthonymcghee@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 134 By Appointment only
Mason Lamb (Music 9) masonl@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 166 By Appointment only
Christian Cruz (Music 9) cruzchri@mail.fresnostate.edu   By Appointment only

Top

Graduate Assistants

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Rebecca Messer (Accompanist) rmesser@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 134
Joseph Cargill
(Symphony Orchestra Assistant)
cargill.joseph@gmail.com 559.278.2654 MB 188
Michael Afu
(Wind Librarian)
afu_m@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2821 MB 188
Yuxi Liu
(Recording Assistant)
yuxi@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2917 MB 228
Marco Mellone (Athletic Bands) marcomellone@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 138
Kevin Misakian (Athletic Bands) kevinmisakian@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 138
Marc McGhee (Choral Assistant) marcanthonymcghee@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 147

Top

Main Office Hours: M-F: 8-5pm

Music Support Staff

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2018 Office Hours
Sindi McGuire
(Administrative Support Coordinator)
smcguire@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Audrey Rodriguez
(Financial Administrator)
aurodriguez@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Jose M. ElaGarza
(
Recording Arts Technician)
elagarza@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2917 MB 228
Eileen Zacharczyp
(University Bands Administrative Assistant)
ezacharczyp@csufresno.edu 559.278.5086 MB 138
Andrew Quiring
(Collaborative Pianist)
dquiring@csufresno.edu 559.278.7495 MB 222
Shing-Ming Liao
(Collaborative Accompanist)
liao@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.5090 MB 220
Josh Clarin
(Instrument Shop Assistant)
joshclarinet@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191
Terry Barrett
(Piano/Instrument Technician)
terrybarrett@csufresno.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191
Amber Gash ambergash@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Dorothy Lucey dlucey@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134

Top