Faculty and Staff

The Department of Music full-time and part-time faculty has backgrounds in varied areas of specialization. Many members of the faculty have national and international reputations as performing artists and teachers. Others are well known for their scholarly research, articles, and books. They are all dedicated to providing students with the best music education possible both in their classes and studios.

Administration

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Department Chair)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 134 M: 4-5 pm
T: 2-3 pm
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Graduate Program Coordinator)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 T: 11-12 pm, 2-5 pm
Th: 11-12 pm

Top

Woodwind

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Teresa Beaman Teresa Beaman
(Flute)
teresab@csufresno.edu MB 244 By Appointment only
 Elisa Moles Elisa Moles
(Flute)
elisamoles@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 244 By Appointment only
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Saxophone)

adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142 T: 8:30-9:30 am
Th: 9-10 am
Larry Gardner Larry Gardner
(Bassoon, President's Quintet)
larryg@csufresno.edu MB 174 T: 1-2 pm (and by Appointment only)
Miles Ishigaki Miles Ishigaki
(Clarinet)
milesi@csufresno.edu MB 146 M-F: 8:50-9:50 am (and by Appointment)
No Picture Rachel Aldrich
(Oboe)
raldrich@csufresno.edu MB 155 By Appointment only
  Aaron Luna (Clarinet) amarcusl@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 174 By Appointment only

Top

Brass

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
  Joel Elias
(Trombone/
Euphonium)
joelias@csufresno.edu MB 224 T.W (Appointment only)
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240  
Ed Hull Ed Hull
(Tuba)
ehull@csufresno.edu MB 224 M: 10-4 pm
Picture Not Available Nathan Sobieralski
(Trumpet)
nsobieralski@csufresno.edu MB 224 M: 4-5 pm
Th: 11-12 pm
F: 4-5 pm 

Top

Percussion

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Percussion)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144 M: 4-5 pm
T: 2-3 pm
David Gabrielson Dave Gabrielson
(Percussion)
dgabrielson@csufresno.edu MB 134  

 

 Top

Strings

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Jazz String Bass/Jazz Studies)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115 M: 10-11 am
W: 10-11 am
(and by Appointment only)
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Cello)
Symphony Orchestra
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165 M: 3-4 pm
W: 3-4 pm
Limor Toren-Immerman Limor Toren-Immerman
(Violin/Viola)
ltoren@csufresno.edu MB 161  
  Michael Chang
(Viola)
woongjoon@gmail.com MB 174  
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Guitar)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150

M: 8-9 am

 

Bruce Bransby Bruce Bransby
(String Bass)
bbransby@csufresno.edu MB 165  
  Laura Porter (Strings and Harp) lauporter@csufresno.edu  MB 134  

Top

Voice

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities/Chamber Singers/Concert Choir/Masterworks Chorus)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Director of the Fresno State University Singers)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 M: 3-4 pm
T: 2-3 pm
W: 3-4 pm
F: 11-12 pm & 3-4 pm
Brigid deJong Brigid deJong
(Voice)
bdejong@csufresno.edu MB 243 T: 11:30-12 pm
W: 10-10:30 am
Th: 11-12:00 pm
Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Voice/Opera)
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163 W: 11-2 pm
Th: 10-12 pm
Maria Briggs

Maria Briggs
(Voice/Opera,  Area Coordinator)

 

mbriggs@csufresno.edu MB 173 M: 1-2 pm
T: 3-4 pm
W: 1-3 pm
Th: 3:30-4:30 pm

Top

Keyboard

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Lenore Hiebert Lenore Hiebert
(Piano/Ensemble)
lenoreh@csufresno.edu MB 155 Th: 12-12:30 pm and 1:30 to 3 pm
F: 11-12 pm
Andreas Werz Andreas Werz
(Piano)
andreasw@csufresno.edu MB 159  

Top

Theory and Composition

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Benjamin Boone Benjamin Boone
(Theory and Composition)
bboone@csufresno.edu MB 248

M: 1-2:30 pm
W: 1-2:30 pm
F: 12-12:30 pm

Kenneth Froelich Kenneth Froelich
(Theory and Composition)
kfroelich@csufresno.edu MB 250 Sabbatical 2019
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240 M: 12-1 pm
TTh: 10-11 am
Bryce Cannell Bryce Cannell
(Music Theory)
brycecannell@csufresno.edu MB 137  

Top

 Jazz Studies

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Director Jazz Orchestra/Jazz Combos)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115 M: 10-11 am
W: 10-11: am
(and by Appointment only)

Craig VonBerg

Craig VonBerg (Jazz Piano/Jazz Ensemble) cvonberg@csufresno.edu MB 172  
  Les Nunes (Jazz Trombone) lesnunes@comcast.net MB 134  
No Picture Max Hembd (Ethnomusicology) mhembd@csufresno.edu MB 174  
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Jazz Woodwinds)

adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142  
 Jaz Sawyer Jaz Sawyer (Jazz Drumset)      

Pop/Rock/Jazz

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours

Roger Gonzales

Roger Gonzales rogonzales@csufresno.edu MB 172  

Craig VonBerg

Craig VonBerg (Jazz Piano/Jazz Ensemble) cvonberg@csufresno.edu MB 172  
Picture Not Available Nathan Sobieralski
(Trumpet)
nsobieralski@csufresno.edu MB 224 M: 4-5 pm
Th: 11-12 pm
Fri: 4-5 pm 


Top

Music Education

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
No Picture Sandra Giersch
(Music Ed)
sgiersch@csufresno.edu MB 137 Th: 1-3 pm  (and by Appointment only)
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Music Ed Coordinator, Music Minor Advisor)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 M-F: 3-4 pm (and by Appointment only)
Tony Mowrer Tony Mowrer
(Music Ed Coordinator, Advising Coordinator)
tmowrer@csufresno.edu MB 246
Mon: 2-4 pm
W: 2-4 pm
F: 2-4 pm

Top

Music History and Ethnomusicology

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Ethnomusicology)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 T: 11-12 pm, 2-5 pm
Th: 11-12 pm
John Karr John Karr
(Music History and
Ethnomusicology)
jkarr@csufresno.edu MB 238 MWF: 1-1:30 pm
M: 5:30-6 pm
TTh: 3:30- 4 pm
No Picture Partow Hooshmandrad
(Ethnomusicology)
phooshmandrad@csufresno.edu MB 216  
No Picture Max Hembd (Ethnomusicology) mhembd@csufresno.edu MB 174  

 

Top

Ensemble Directors

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Director Clendenin Brass Quintet)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240 M: 12-1 pm
TTh: 10-11 am
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Director of Percussion Ensemble)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144 M: 4-5 pm
T: 2-3 pm
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Jazz String Bass/Jazz Combo)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 115 M: 10-11 am
W: 10-11:am
(By Appointment only)
Gary Gilroy Gary P. Gilroy
(Director of Bands/
Wind Orchestra)
garygi@csufresno.edu MB 140 TTh: 10-10:30 am
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities/Chamber Singers/Concert Choir/Masterworks Chorus)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Director of Mariachi Ensemble)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 T: 11-12 pm, 2-5 pm
Thur: 11-12 pm
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Director of Orchestra/
String Quartet)
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165 M: 3-4 pm
W: 3-4 pm
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Director of University Singers)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218 M-F: 3-4 pm (and by Appointment only)

Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Director of Opera Theater)
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163 W: 11-2 pm
Th: 10-12 pm
Larry Gardner Larry Gardner
(Director President's Quintet)
larryg@csufresno.edu MB 174 T: 1-2 pm, (and by Appointment only)
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Director of Guitar Ensemble)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150 M: 8-9 am
T: 9 am
W: 8:30 am
Th: 9 am Fri: 8 am 
McKeithen Steven McKeithen
(Associate Director of Bands/Athletic Bands)
smckeithen@csufresno.edu MB 139  

Top

Teaching Associates

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Tim Shaghoian (Jazz) tshaghoian@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 142  
Christian Cruz cruzchri@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 134  
Ashley Trembley artrembley@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 134  

Top

Graduate Assistants

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Jeff LaRose hornfire@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 188
Kevin Misakian (Athletic Bands) kevinmisakian@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 138
Kenneshae Murray kenneshae@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 147
Sarine Topaldjikian sarinemt@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 134 

Top

Main Office Hours: M-F: 8-5pm

Music Support Staff

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2019 Office Hours
Sindi McGuire
(Administrative Support Coordinator)
smcguire@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134 8-5 pm
Audrey Rodriguez
(Financial Administrator)
aurodriguez@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134 8-5 pm
Jose M. ElaGarza
(
Recording Arts Technician)
elagarza@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2917 MB 228 By Appointment
Eileen Zacharczyp
(University Bands Administrative Assistant)
ezacharczyp@csufresno.edu 559.278.5086 MB 138 8-5 pm
Andrew Quiring
(Collaborative Pianist)
dquiring@csufresno.edu 559.278.7495 MB 222  
Shing-Ming Liao
(Collaborative Accompanist)
liao@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.5090 MB 220  
Terry Barrett
(Piano/Instrument Technician)
terrybarrett@csufresno.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191 9-3 pm and By Appointment
Dillon Walters dwalter5@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.287.2654 MB 182  
Music Office musicoffice@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134 8-5 pm

Music Shop musicshop@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191  

Top