New Music Ensemble

Dr. Kenneth Froelich, Faculty Advisor


The Fresno State New Music Ensemble is a student-run chamber group dedicated to the performance and promotion of music by living composers. The New Music Ensemble, which is made up of some of the top performers in the Fresno State Music Department, presents at least one concert each semester at CSU Fresno, in addition to other performances around the state. Works are chosen from a wide range of contemporary composers from around the world in various stages of their careers, from student composers to internationally-recognized professionals. In the 2015-16 season, the New Music Ensemble will present two concerts at CSU Fresno, one of which will feature music by living Armenian composers, in addition to a concert at the Brand Library & Art Center in Glendale, California.

The New Music Ensemble features:

Cassandra Barnes, flute
Katie Winter, clarinet
Joshua Locher, saxophone
Andrew Watkins, trombone
Joshua Witrado, percussion
Nathaniel Musso and Nathan Nau, piano
Lianna Stuart, violin
Amy Dockum and Patricia Fronda, cello
Shawn Toner, double bass
Dr. Kenneth Froelich, faculty advisor