News & Events 2014-2015

Middle East Studies Lecture, Performance & Film Series 2014-2015

*All events are held at 6:00pm at PB #101 unless otherwise noted

 

Monday Feb. 2

Historical Perspectives: The Ancient Near East (6PM, PB 101)
DR. MARITERE LOPEZ, History, Fresno State

 

Monday Feb. 9

Religious Traditions: Islam (6PM, PB 101)
DR. NEGIN TAHVILDARY, Philosophy, Fresno State

 

Monday Feb. 23

The Development of Islamic Civilization (6PM, PB 101)
“Cultural and Religious Diversity during the Islamic Civilization"
DR. SERGIO LA PORTA, Philosophy & Armenian Studies, Fresno State

 

Saturday, March 7

An Evening of Iranian Classical Music (*7PM, Concert Hall)
Behrouz Sadeghian & Faramarz Amiri

 

Monday March 9

Islamic Civilization:Edward Said’s Orientalism (*5 PM, PB 101)
DR. SAÚL JIMÉNEZ-SANDOVAL, MCLL, Fresno State

Cinema & Media:  Media Stereotypes of the Middle East (6 PM PB 101)
DR. MARY HUSAIN, MCJ, Fresno State

 

Monday March 16

The Rise and Fall of the Ottomans and Safavids (6PM, PB 101)
DR. FREDERIK VERMOTE, History, Fresno State

 

Monday March 23

European Imperialist Interests, the Rise of Nationalism, and the Postwar Era (*6PM, PB 191) DR. AFSHIN MATIN, History, California State University, Los Angeles

 

Monday April 6

The Iranian Revolution and the US Policy of Dual Containment (6PM, PB 101)
DR. SASAN FAYAZMANESH, Economics, Fresno State

 

Monday April 9

Who Speaks for Islam? (*5-7pm, McLane Hall 121)
DR. VINCENT BIONDO, IRFAN ALI, HAMID MAVANI, Philosophy (the Ethics Center), Fresno State

 

Monday April 13

The Contest for Palestine (*6 PM, PB 191)
DR. LAWRENCE DAVIDSON, History, West Chester University

 

Wednesday April 15

Feminist Street Art Since the Arab Spring (*2 PM, CA 101)
PAULA BIRNBAUM, SF State

 

Monday April 20

Iranian Classical Music (6PM, PB 101)
DR. PARTOW HOOSHMANDRAD, Music, Fresno State

 

Friday April 24

The Question of Apartheid and the Palestinian Struggle to End the Occupation (*3:30PM, PB 191)
DR. RICHARD FALK, Princeton University/UCSB

 

Free & Open to the Public!

Sponsors:  Roshan Cultural Heritage Institute; Parsa Foundation; Middle East Studies Program (Department of Philosophy);Persian Language and Culture Studies; The Ethics Center; California State University, Fresno