Faculty and Staff

The goal of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures is to encourage multiculturalism and multilingualism in the Central Valley.

 

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Phone Number
Amaral, Jacinta jacintaa@csufresno.edu Emerita/Spanish  
Avila, Debbie deavila@csufresno.edu Department Chair 559.278.6616
Becirbegovic, Amila abecirbegovic@mail.fresnostate.edu German/Ethnic Humanities 559.278.2708
Bernthal, Sarah sbernthal@csufresno.edu Lecturer/Humanities and French  
Calleros Villarreal, Daniel dcalleros@csufresno.edu   559.278.1108
Castillo, Elsa elsac@csufresno.edu Lecturer, Spanish Linguistics, Teaching Methodology, TA Coordinator  559.278.1159
Chapman, William wchapman@mail.fresnostate.edu Adjunct instructor/ Oral History 559.278.3978
Doub, Yolanda  ydoub@csufresno.edu  Spanish  559.278.5736
Curtis, Eastin  cjeastin@csufresno.edu  Classics and Humanities  
Kristi, Eastin  keastin@csufresno.edu  Classics and Humanities  559.278.2387
Ford, Keith theabsolutmoose@mail.fresnostate.edu   559.278.2331
Garibay-Contreras, Oscar
 osgaribay@mail.fresnostate.edu  Spanish Lecturer  
Hernandez Garcia, Celina  celinahg@csufresno.edu  Spanish Lecturer  
Hernandez, Maria Elvira  mehernandez@csufresno.edu  Lecturer/Spanish  559.278.2426
Kuhn, Rose Marie
 rosemk@csufresno.edu    
Lemus, Rafael  rlemus@csufresno.edu  Spanish  559.278.2088
LoBianco, Loredana  llobianco@csufresno.edu    559.278.6437
Lopez Hernandez, Sanjuana sanjuanalopez@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish  
Lopez, Alejandra allopez@csufresno.edu Spanish lecturer 559.278.2447
Martinez, Jesus jesusmartinez@csufresno.edu Spanish lecturer 559.278.2748
Medina-Sancho, Gloria gmedina@csufresno.edu Spanish, advisor for the Spanish major and minor 559.278.6963
Mobili, Giorgio gmobili@csufresno.edu Humanities, Spanish, Italian 559.278.6963
Morillo Lopez, Maria Dolores mdmorillo@csufresno.edu  Spanish/4A and 4B Coordinator  559.278.6122
Munoz, Natalie nmunoz@csufresno.edu French 559.278.7039
Pacheco, Edgardo epacheco@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish 559.278.3978
Rida, Amal arida@csufresno.edu French  
Rocha, Mona morocha@csufresno.edu Classics/Humanities  
Rodriguez-Matos, Jaime jrodriguezmatos@csufresno.edu Spanish 559.278.6122
Sands, Isolina isands@csufresno.edu Spanish 559.278.2426
Sanmartin, Paula psanmartin@csufresno.edu Spanish, MA advisor and coordinator 559.278.8803
Sultanić, Indira isultanic@mail.fresnostate.edu Spanish/translation and interpreting 559.278.5736
Thornton, Bruce brucet@csufresno.edu Classics/Humanities 559.278.7037
Torrance, James jamesto@csufresno.edu German 559.278.0436
Zapata-Whelan, Carol czapata@csufresno.edu Spanish  
Zhernovey, Yevgen yevgenz@csufresno.edu Lecturer/French  

 

Teaching Associates Fall 2018

 

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Phone Number
Alarcon Marin, Stephanie Alejandra
salarcon92@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Alcaraz Miranda, Mireya
mireyaalcaraz@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Arias Esquivel, Mario Alberto
mario00arias@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Ceballos Madrigal, Jorge
jorgeceballos@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Esparza Borja, Monica   TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Madrigal Piceno, Maria G.
mariagmadrigalp@mail.fresnostate.edu TA/Spanish 559.278.5112
Rubio, Berenice   TA/Spanish 559.278.5112


Emeriti Faculty

* denotes deceased

  • David G. Engle (1988 - 2017)
  • John M. Barta (1968-1997)
  • Wayne S. Bowen (1964-1990)
  • Carmen P. Clough (1963-1983) *
  • Helen L. Dmitriew (1967-1992) *
  • Jose A. Elgorriaga (1962-1992) *
  • G. Ronald Freeman (1969-2000)
  • Maurice C. Gendron (1969-2006)
  • June M. Gill (1971-2004)
  • Victor Davis Hanson (1985-2004)
  • Paul F. Kinzel (1963-1992)
  • Leta J. Lewis (1963-1989)
  • M. Margarita Lopez-Urrutia (1973-1998)
  • Elemer Joseph Nagy (1962-1983) *
  • Ransom H. Poythress (1962-1982)
  • Alexander Pronin (1965-1992) *
  • David A. Ross (1968-2009)
  • Ignacio B. Santesteban (1971-2001)
  • Keith E. Sauer (1971-1998)
  • Adriana N. Slaniceanu (1969-2000)
  • Edith H. Stock-Roh (1969-1988)
  • Cosme M. Zaragoza (1984-2011)