Department Faculty

The goal of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures is to encourage multiculturalism and multilingualism in the Central Valley.

Avila, Debbie

Classification: Faculty

Role: Department Chair

Specialty Area: Spanish, Portuguese

Direct Phone : 559.278.6616

Email Address: deavila@csufresno.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/avila.html

Barrera, Maria

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone : TBA

Email Address: amezola8@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/mariabarrera.html

Becirbegovic, Amila

Classification: Faculty

Role: German Minor Advisor

Specialty Area: German, Ethnic Humanities

Direct Phone : 559.278.2708

Email Address: abecirbegovic@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/becirbegovic.html

Bernthal, Sarah

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Humaities, French

Direct Phone : 559.278.6616

Email Address: sbernthal@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/sarahbernthal.html

Borges, Dennis

Classification: Faculty

Role: Director of Portuguese Beyond Borders Institute

Specialty Area: Portuguese

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: dborges@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/dennisborges.html

Calleros Villarreal, Daniel

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.1108

Email Address: dcallerosvillareal@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/calleros.html

Castillo, Elsa

Classification: Faculty

Role: TA Coordinator, MCLL Teachers' Academy Coordinator

Specialty Area: Spanish, Teaching Methodology, Spanish Lingustics

Direct Phone: 559.278.1159

Email Address: elsac@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/castillo.html

Doub, Yolanda

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.5756

Email Address: ydoub@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/doub.html

Eastin, Curtis

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Classics and Humanities

Direct Phone: 559.278.2387

Email Address: cjeastin@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/eastincr.html

Eastin, Kristi

Classification: Faculty

Role: Classics Minor Advisor

Specialty: Classics and Humanities

Direct Phone: 559.278.2387

Email Address: keastin@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/eastinkr.html

Emmanuel, Edward

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Humanities

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address: edwarde@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/edwardemmanuel.html

Garibay Contreras, Oscar

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: osgaribay@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/oscargaribaycontreras.html

Gonzalez Mercado, Maria

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address:TBA

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/gabrielagonzalezmercado.html

Hashemi, Tara

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: French

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address: TBA

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/tarahashemi.html

Hernandez, Maria Elvira

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2426

Email Address: mehernandez@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/hernandezme.html

Hernandez - Garcia, Celina

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: celinahg@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/hernandezlc.html

Kuhn, Rose Marie

Classification: Faculty

Role: French Major and Minor Advisor

Specialy Area: French

Direct Phone:559.278.6890

Email Address: rosemk@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/rosemariekuhn.html

Lemus, Rafael

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2088

Email Address: rlemus@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/lemus.html

Lima, Ines

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Portuguese

Direct Phone: 559.278.5736

Email Address: ineslima@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/ineslima.html

Lo Bianco, Loredana

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Italian

Direct Phone: 559.278.6437

Email Address: llobianco@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/lobianco.html

Lopez, Alejandra

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2426

Email Address: allopez@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/lopezalej.html

Lopez Herandez, Sanjuana

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: sanjuanalopez@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/lopezhernsan.html

Martinez, Jesus

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: jesusmartinez@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/martinez.html

Medina - Sancho, Gloria

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.6963

Email Address: gmedina@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/gmedina.html

Mobili, Gorgio

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.6963

Email Address: gmobili@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/mobili.html

Morillo, Maria Dolores

Classification: Faculty

Role: Spanish Marjor, Minor, and Credential Advisor

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.6122

Email Address: mdmorillo@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/morillo.html

Munoz, Natalie

Classification: Faculty

Role: French Marjor and Minor Advisor

Specialty Area: French

Direct Phone: 559.278.7039

Email Address: nmunoz@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/nmunoz.html

Pacheco - Resto, Edgardo

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: edpacheco@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/edgardopachecoresto.html

Petkas, Alexander

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Humanities

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address: TBA

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/petkasalexander.html

Polegato, Andrea

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Italian

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address: TBA

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/andreapolegato.html

RIda, Amal

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: French

Direct Phone: 559.278.6437

Email Address: arida@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/ridaamal.html

Rocha, Mona

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Humanities

Direct Phone: TBA

Email Address: morocha@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/rochamona.html

Rodriguez Matos, Jaime

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.8263

Email Address: jrodriguezmatos@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/rodmatosjaime.html

Sands, Isolina

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area; Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2426

Email Address: isands@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/sands.html

Sanmartin, Paula

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.8803

Email Address: psanmartin@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/sanmartin.html

Tamarit, Marc

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.6437

Email Address: marc@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/marctamarit.html

Thornton, Bruce

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Humanities

Direct Phone: 559.278.3978

Email Address: brucet@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/thornton.html

Zapata, Carol

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: Spanish

Direct Phone: 559.278.2447

Email Address: czapata@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/zapata.html

Zhernovey, Yevgen

Classification: Faculty

Specialty Area: French

Direct Phone: 559.278.6437

Email Address: yevgenz@mail.fresnostate.edu

http://www.fresnostate.edu/artshum/mcll/faculty-staff/zhernovey.html

 

Teaching Associates Fall 2019

 

Alarcon Marin, Stephanie Alejandra

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: salarcon92@mail.fresnostate.edu

Alcaraz Miranda, Mireya

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: mireyaalcaraz@mail.fresnostate.edu

Cervantes, German

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: germancer@mail.fresnostate.edu

Esparza Borja, Monica

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: moniesp57@mail.frsnostate.edu

Julio, Ana

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: anamoctezuma@mail.fresnostate.edu

Madrigal Piceno, Maria G.

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: mariagmadrigalp@mail.fresnostate.edu

Rivera, Ana

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: anarosarivera@mail.fresnostate.edu

Romero, Raquel

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: romeroraquel@mail.fresnostate.edu

Rubio, Berenice

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address: rubio_109135578@mail.fresnostate.edu

Sayhua-Quispe, Mariela

Direct Phone: 559.278.5112

Email Address:mariela_sayhua@mail.fresnostate.edu

 

Emeriti Faculty

* denotes deceased

  • Jacinta Amaral (1988 - 2018)
  • David G. Engle (1988 - 2017)
  • John M. Barta (1968-1997)
  • Wayne S. Bowen (1964-1990)
  • Carmen P. Clough (1963-1983) *
  • Helen L. Dmitriew (1967-1992) *
  • Jose A. Elgorriaga (1962-1992) *
  • G. Ronald Freeman (1969-2000)
  • Maurice C. Gendron (1969-2006)
  • June M. Gill (1971-2004)
  • Victor Davis Hanson (1985-2004)
  • Paul F. Kinzel (1963-1992)
  • Leta J. Lewis (1963-1989)
  • M. Margarita Lopez-Urrutia (1973-1998)
  • Elemer Joseph Nagy (1962-1983) *
  • Ransom H. Poythress (1962-1982)
  • Alexander Pronin (1965-1992) *
  • David A. Ross (1968-2009)
  • Ignacio B. Santesteban (1971-2001)
  • Keith E. Sauer (1971-1998)
  • Adriana N. Slaniceanu (1969-2000)
  • Edith H. Stock-Roh (1969-1988)
  • Cosme M. Zaragoza (1984-2011)