Student Spotlight

If you are a current student or know about a student who has achieved a major accomplishment, let us know. Email Prof. Hays at

Broadcast Journalism Students Win APTRA Award

Mass communication and journalism students G.J. Glutz and Ashley Monk received the 2014 Best General News Award in the student category from the Associated Press Television Radio Association for their Fresno State Focus report on international students at Fresno State.

They competed against journalism students from 13 states in the competition that recognizes excellence in broadcast journalism among APTRA members in the western United States. 

Read the rest of the story here:

Electronic Media Production Students Win Telly Awards

Lisa TalleyPhillip BergmanMatt Mealer and students in Studio A

Congratulations to several of our electronic media production students who won Telly awards: Lisa Talley, Phillip Bergman, Matt Mealer and Tyler Groom. Lisa, Phillip and Matt are all B# Video Club officers.

Check out their award-winning work.
Lisa Talley & Phillip Bergman won a Telly Award for ‘Wake.’ Check out their video:

Matt Mealer & Tyler Groom won a Telly for their music video called, ‘Fear and Faith.’ You can see their video at:

Ana Mendoza and Matt Weir

Ana MendozaMatt Weir

The Collegian has been honored with two Region 11 Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists. Ana Mendoza, a staff writer during Fall 2010, won 1st place for the Breaking News Reporting category, and Matt Weir, The Collegian's photo editor, won 2nd place in the Breaking News Photography category. Ana Mendoza will now move on to the national competition.

This follows on the heels of success in another recent competition. The Collegian received 14 awards from the California College Media Association at a banquet held in Hollywood on March 5. Behind only UCLA and UC-Berkeley, Fresno State’s total was tied for third most with Cal State Fullerton. Congratulations to all of the wonderful, talented, dedicated students at The Collegian who make us so proud and give us so many reasons to celebrate!

Cody GlessWinners for the Associated Press Television-Radio Association’s annual Mark Twain Award honors in 12 Western states were announced and Cody Gless, MCJ broadcast student, took home the award for “Best Videography of a News Feature” for his Saving Soles work.
Judging was completed by an esteemed panel of broadcast professionals and university professors.
“If there is any concern that the revolution that our profession is dealing with these days is affecting the quality and passion of the work being done, the entries in this year’s Mark Twain Awards should evaporate those concerns,” APTRA president Ross Becker said.
“This is one of the best collections of broadcast and web journalism we have ever seen. The competition was fierce and the winners should be very proud,” Becker continued. “We look forward to presenting the Mark Twain Awards in June and announcing the winners in the nomination categories. The MCJ department congratulates Cody for this high honor!

Jeff Phillips alone with award We are proud to announce that our very own MCJ student, Jeff Phillips, is part of an Emmy-winning Survivor team. Read more on this story. fresno-state-senior-is-part-of-emmy-winning-%E2%80%98survivor%E2%80%99-team