Advising

All MCJ students are assigned an adviser when they enter the department. Meeting regularly with faculty to discuss course selection, general education and other academic requirements is crucial to ensure degree progress. It is important to speak with an adviser at least once a semester, and it is a good idea for students to bring a current Degree Audit Reporting System (DARS report) with them to their meeting. DARS can be pulled online from students’ accounts at http://my.csufresno.edu.

For a list of Liberal Arts and Science classes for the General Education requirement, click here: Liberal Arts and Science Courses

IMPORTANT NOTE ON THE WRITING REQUIREMENT: If your option requires you to take MCJ102W, you MUST take this class. If you do not take 102W, you must take the writing exam (Title V of the State Writing Requirements) in order to graduate. If you have questions, please contact the Interm MCJ department chair, Dr. Kathy Adams, at: kathya@csufresno.edu

The adviser is usually someone who teaches in the student’s option. Below is a list of current advisers.

Don’t delay in meeting with your adviser!

See Your Adviser…

  • As soon as you declare MCJ as your major.
  • At least once a semester — well before your registration appointment.
  • Once you have completed 60-75 units.
  • The semester before your planned graduating semester and during the first two weeks of your graduating semester.

MCJ Advisers

Dr. Roberta Asahina
Advertising/Advertising Certificates
MCF 232
278-5704
robertaa@csufresno.edu

Candace Egan
Multimedia/Interdisciplinary Minor in Media Arts/Minor in Mass Communication and Journalism  
SA 140C
278-5070
candace@csufresno.edu

Betsy Hays
Public Relations
MCF 231
278-6154
bhays@csufresno.edu

Dr. Gary Rice
Journalism/Print Journalism 
MCF 233
278-2026
grice@csufresno.edu

Faith Sidlow Soares Wilson
Journalism/Broadcast Journalism
SA 140i
278-4868
fmsidlow@csufresno.edu

Jes Therkelsen
Multimedia/Electronic Media
SA 140A
278-5078
jtherkelsen@csufresno.edu