Faculty and Staff

Name Email Role/Specialty Area Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Brian Agbayani bagbayan@csufresno.edu
  • Department Chair
  • Syntactic theory
  • Comparative syntax
  • Syntax-phonology interface         
 PB 416  Coming soon
Denise Bissett denise_bissett@csufresno.edu Department Administrative Assistant Peters Business Bldg. 383  
Niken Adisasmito-Smith nadisasmito@csufresno.edu    PB 422  Coming soon 
Barbara Birch nadisasmito@csufresno.edu 
  • English as a second language reading 
  • English grammar
  • Language attitude
  • Peace education                 
PB 420  Coming soon 
John Boyle jboyle@csufresno.edu 
  • Syntactic Theory
  • Morphology
  • Typology
  • Morpho-syntax interface
  • Language documentation and revitalization
  • Language pedagogy
PB 417  Coming soon 
Laura Burke  laurab@csufresno.edu    PB 422  Coming soon 
Jidong Chen jchen@csufresno.edu 
  • Graduate coordinator
  • First and second language acquisition
  • Event construal and event representation
  • Language and cognition                
PB 421  Coming soon 
Jaydene Elvin  
  • TESL
  Coming soon
Kelsey Evans   kelseywithak@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 418  Coming soon 
Sean Fulop sfulop@csufresno.edu 
  • Cognitive Science Coordinator
  • Acoustic phonetics
  • Speech processing theory and methods
  • Computational linguistics theory
  • Mathematics of language
  • Mathematics and computation of learning
  • Web manager         
PB 423  Coming soon 
Chris Golston chris_golston@csufresno.edu 
  • Phonetics/phonology
  • Poetic meter
  • Morphology/syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Evolution of language                
PB 424  Coming soon 
Tomoko Kozasa tkozasa@csufresno.edu
  • Japanese program coordinator,
 
PB 415  Coming soon 
Ellen Lipp ellen_lipp@csufresno.edu 
  • Second language writing
  • Second language reading
  • TESL/TEFL methodology
  • Curriculum design
  • Cultural issues in TESL/TEFL
  • Language program administration      
PB 419  Coming soon 
Cho Ly  cly@csufresno.edu    PB 412  Coming soon 
Li Mann  lmann@cufresno.edu    PB 418  Coming soon 
Vongsavanh Mouanoutoua  vomouanoutoua@csufresno.edu    PB 412  Coming soon 
Serina Nakazawa  gt5610nkzwjp@mail.fresnostate.edu    PB 415  Coming soon 
Nasir Rashid nrashid@csufresno.edu    PB 422  Coming soon 
Bethany Richards  brichards@csufresno.edu    PB 415  Coming soon 
Kelly Schroeder  kschroeder@csufresno.edu    PB 412  Coming soon 
Miho Schweizer mschweizer@scufresno.edu    PB 415  Coming soon 
Nalee See     PB 412  Coming soon 
Chandra Shekar  chandras@csufresno.edu    IT 262  Coming soon 
Michael Shepherd  mshepherd@csufresno.edu 
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Discourse analysis
PB 411  Coming soon 
Negin Tahvildary  negin@csufresno.edu    MB 112  Coming soon 
Xinchun Wang  xinw@csufresno.edu 
  • Chinese program coordinator
  • Applied phonetics/experimental phonetics
  • Cross-linguistic speech perception and production
  • TESOL theory and methodology
  • Computer-assisted language learning (CALL)
  • Online teaching and learning
  • Chinese language instruction
PB 413  Coming soon 
Kao-Ly Yang  kayang@csufresno.edu 
  •  Hmong coordinator
PB 412  Coming soon 
Xinping Yu  xinpingyu@csufresno.edu    PB 418  Coming soon 

Emeritus Faculty

Emeritus status is an honorary title awarded for distinguished service to the academic community. The President may bestow the title on a tenured faculty member or on an administrator who is entering permanent retirement and who has served the University with distinction. Bestowal of emeritus status is a distinctive honor, and emeriti faculty are regarded as an important and integral part of the university community.

* Denotes deceased

Frederick Brengelman (1957-1994) 

  • History of the English language
  • History of English linguistics
  • Language variation
  • email 

Edward Gammon (1966-1987) 

 

Jerry Hopkins (1964-1979)

 

Ritva Laury (1994-2007)

  • Discourse analysis
  • Functional syntax
  • Pragmatics
  • Language change
  • Finnish linguistics 

Gerald R. McMenamin (1980-2009) 

  • Analysis of linguistic variation
  • Stylistics
  • Spanish Linguistics
  • Corpus Linguistics
  • Forensic Linguistics
  • email

Karen Mistry

  • Language acquisition (first and second language and gender)
  • Applied linguistics (teaching of English grammar, spelling and reading)
  • Historical Linguistics (sub-Saharan languages especially southern African languages)
  • History of English
  • email

P. J. Mistry (1969-2004) *

  • Syntax
  • Indic Linguistics
  • Sanskrit 

Shigeko Okamoto (1998-2007)

  • Sociolinguistics
  • Japanese linguistics
  • Discourse analysis 

Vida Samiian (1984-2017)

  • Syntax
  • Persian language
  • email

Raymond S. Weitzman (1968-2001) * 

  •  Phonetics

Jack B. Zeldis (1969-2001)

  • Phonetics
  • Phonology
  • Syntax
  • Historical linguistics
  • Hebrew and Semitic linguistics