Skip to contentSkip to navigation


MFA Faculty

Steven Church (creative nonfiction)

Steven Church serves as coordinator of the MFA Program, and he is a founding editor and the nonfiction editor for The Normal School literary magazine. He is the author of five books. His most recent book of nonfiction, One with the Tiger, was published in 2016 by Soft Skull Press.

Full bio and accomplishments

Author website

Corrinne Clegg Hales (poetry)

Corrinne Clegg Hales coordinates the annual Philip Levine Prize for Poetry book contest. She is the author of five poetry collections, most recently To Make it Right, published in 2011 by Autumn House Press and winner of the Autumn House Poetry Prize for 2010.

Full bio and accomplishments

John Hales (creative nonfiction)

John Hales is the author of Shooting Polaris: A Personal Survey in the American West, published in 2006 by the University of Missouri Press.

Full bio and accomplishments

Randa Jarrar (fiction)

Randa Jarrar received a Lannan Foundation fellowship in 2015. She is the author of A Map of Home, published in 2008 by Other Press and 2009 by Penguin, and winner of an Arab-American Book Award. Her latest book, Him, Me, Muhammad Ali, was published in 2016 by Sarabande Books and won the Story Prize Spotlight Award.

Full bio and accomplishments

Author website

Tim Skeen (poetry)

Tim Skeen is the James and Coke Hallowell Professor of Creative Writing. He is the author of two poetry collections, most recently Risk, published in 2014, winner of the White Pine Press Poetry Prize. His third book of poetry, Reward, is forthcoming in fall 2017 from Finishing Line Press.

Full bio and accomplishments

MFA Staff

Jefferson Beavers (communication specialist)

Jefferson Beavers is a multimedia storyteller with more than 20 years of experience in journalism, strategic communication, and higher education. He works as a Communication Specialist in the Department of English, serving the Creative Writing Program as its public affairs coordinator and administrative support assistant.

In the community Jefferson also serves as development director for the all-volunteer cultural arts nonprofit Fresno Filmworks, on the advisory council for Valley Public Radio, and as president of the Fresno State Creative Writing Alumni Chapter.

Jefferson earned his MFA degree in creative nonfiction and his bachelor’s degree in print journalism, both from Fresno State. A native of Dinuba, California, in the heart of Tulare County raisin country, he has lived in Fresno since 2001.

Graduate Assistants (2017-18)

The Normal School magazine: Bonita Hele, Kirk Lua, Mani Sayasone

Philip Levine Prize book contest: Krystal Cantú, Dani Potter, Jessica Turney

Recent Visiting Authors

2017-18 (scheduled)

Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Venegas, Reyna Grande, Laurie Ann Guerrero, Christine Hyung-Oak Lee, Glover Davis, Gary Y. Okihiro, Jericho Parms, Rachel Rinehart, Mai Der Vang, Shawn Wen, Julia Wertz, and more


Arturo Arias, Kenneth R. Chacón, Kristin FitzPatrick, Ru Freeman, Carmen Giménez Smith, Tim Z. Hernandez, Andrea Jurjević, Suzanne Lummis, Biljana D. Obradović, José Orduña, Sasha Pimentel, Michele Poulos, Kristen Radtke, Wendy Rose, Dixie Salazar, Solmaz Sharif, Mai Der Vang, Jerald Walker, Gary Young


David Campos, Michele Elam, Myriam Gurba, Juan Felipe Herrera, Kerry Howley, Dennis Maloney, MariNaomi, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Wendy C. Ortiz, Jen Percy, Christine Poreba, Saïd Sayrafiezadeh, Justin Torres, Khaty Xiong


Sherman Alexie, Adelina Anthony, Christopher Buckley, David Campos, Victoria Chang, Marilyn Chin, Matthew Gavin Frank, John Gery, John C. Hampsey, Lee Herrick, Justin Hocking, Michael Jaime-Becerra, Leslie Jamison, Sam Lipsyte, Manuel Muñoz, Elena Passarello, Brynn Saito, Jeffrey Schultz, Jon Veinberg, Chelsea Wagenaar, Josh Weil