Skip to contentSkip to navigation


The Federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1990 requires that part-time, seasonal, or temporary public employees who are not members of a retirement system be covered either by a qualified retirement plan or by Social Security. This requirement applies to California State University (CSU) employees who are presently excluded from membership in the California Public Employees’ Retirement System (CalPERS). (See CalPERS Section for CalPERS eligibility)

To provide this retirement benefit, all non-CalPERS eligible employees are currently placed into one of the following plans:

  • University of California Defined Contributions (UCDC) Plan - Section 401(a) Defined Contribution Plan - Administered by the University of California
  • Part-Time/Seasonal/Temporary Employees Retirement (PST) Program - Section 457 Deferred Compensation Plan - Administered by the Department of Personnel Administration (DPA) under the Savings Plus Program

Effective July 1, 2005, the PST Program will replace the UCDC Plan and become CSU’s exclusive part-time employee retirement program for employees excluded from CalPERS membership.

UCDC participants that will be affected by the transition to the PST Program include eligible employees in the following groups:

  • California Federation of the Union of American Physicians and Dentists (Unit 1)
  • CSU Employees Union (Units 2, 5, 7 and 9)
  • State Employees Trade Council (Unit 6)
  • International Union of Operating Engineers (Unit 10)
  • Non-represented employees (hired on or before May 24, 1996)

Subsequent to the transition, the PST Program will continue to serve as the part-time employee retirement program for eligible employees in the following groups:

  • California Faculty Associate (Unit 3)
  • Academic Professionals of California (Unit 4)
  • Statewide University Police Association (Unit 8)
  • Academic Student Employees (Unit 11)
  • Non-represented employees (hired after May 24, 1996)