Provost's Awards

Provost's Award for Excellence Seal


The Provost's Awards were established in 1993 because outstanding teaching, research and service are central to the mission of Fresno State and because the dedication of our professorial faculty deserves special recognition.  Recipients of the Provost's Awards provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the university as the intellectual and cultural leader of the San Joaquin Valley. The purpose of the Provost's Awards is to honor those faculty members who set new standards of excellence and represent the heart of this great university.

Provost's Awards Recipients 2015-2016

Provost Zelezny is proud to announce the Provost’s Awards recipients for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Excellence in Teaching

Thomas Loewenheim, Professor of Music

Faculty Service

Una Mjurka, Associate Professor of Art and Design

Research, Scholarship and Creative Accomplishment

Carmen Caprau, Associate Professor of Mathematics


Joseph Ross, Assistant Professor of Biology

Promising New Faculty

Lisa Bennett, Assistant Professor of Literacy, Early, Bilingual and Special Education

Florence Cassel Sharma, Assistant Professor of Plant Science

David Lent, Assistant Professor of Biology

Larissa Mercado-López, Assistant Professor of Women's Studies

Bhupinder Singh, Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy

Aly Tawfik, Assistant Professor of Civil and Geomatics Engineering

Cathy Yun, Assistant Professor of Literacy, Early, Bilingual and Special Education

Outstanding Lecturer (New Category)

Timothy Baker, Lecturer, Department of Accountancy

Please join us for a reception recognizing the distinguished achievements of the 2016-2017 award recipients.

2017 Provost’s Awards Reception

Date: Thursday, May 11, 2017

Time:  4:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Location: North Gym #118