Export Controls

Export controls have become an essential part of research compliance, especially since Universities are replete with scholarly work that may depend on international collaborations.  Export Control Laws exist to regulate the export of things, tangible and intangible, out of, into, and within the U.S.  The U.S. Department of State’s International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Export Administration Regulations (EAR), and the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office of Foreign Asset Controls (OFAC) govern the main three export control laws for Universities.  

Export regulations apply to a myriad of transferred items, software, or information to foreign nationals or foreign entities. Prior to the transmission of export-controlled items or information, institutions may be required to obtain a special export license from the Commerce, State, or Treasury Department. The consequences of not complying with export control regulations can be severe and include loss of research funding, fines, and/or prison time.

For detailed information about export controls, please refer to the California State University Export Controls Manual.  Additionally, please refer to the CSU Office of General Counsel Export Control Flowchart to help determine if you qualify for an export license exception or if an export license will be required.  

For helpful descriptions, please refer to Export Controls Frequently Asked Questions.

External Resources:

Export Controls Online Training 


International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR)


Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC)


Export Administration Regulations (EAR)